FabLab – Invent-a-scent perfume {Review}

October 3, 2015

FabLab – Invent-a-scent perfume {Review}

October 3, 2015

Roo at almost nine years old is wanting more from her toys, whilst she still loves the role-play aspect of some of her toys she wants to be challenged and to be able to let her creative juices flow. I’ve found that the different creative sets from Interplay are right up her street and offer her the chance to be challenged yet create something to show at the end of it.

Roo was recently sent over the FabLab – Invent-a-scent perfume set to see whether she could create her own set of perfumes whilst keeping her occupied without the aid of technology.

FabLab Invent-a-scent perfume set - Roo

FabLab – Invent-a-scent perfume

The art of creating and blending perfumes goes back thousands of years. Archaeologists have discovered Perfume bottles in Cyprus that are over 4000 years old! Perfumes are therefore some of the earliest cosmetic products ever used.

Invent-a-scent uncovers some of the secrets of this ancient craft, supplying everything you need to create gorgeous designer perfumes that are fun to wear or give as gifts to friends and family.

This kit contains a variety of different fragrances allowing you to blend unique perfumes to match an individual’s personality, likes and interests.

FabLab Invent-a-scent perfume set - ContentsContents

  • 5x Fragrances (Musk, Pink Flowers, Citrus, Green & Fruity)
  • 5x Plastic pipettes
  • 4x Gift bottes
  • 1x Sheet of self adhesive labels
  • 1x Pair of laboratory gloves

The principle of the FabLab Invent-a-scent is quite simple, there are three notes to most perfumes…

  • Base note – Musk
  • Heart note – Pink flowers
  • Top note – Citrus, Green & Fruity

In order to start creating the perfect perfume you need to add at least one drop of the base and heart notes along with a top note. Experimenting on adding more drops of each note will give you a different fragrance and adding more than one top note will blend smells together to form new fragrances.

Boo Roo and Tigger Too’s thoughts…

Opening the FabLab Invent-a-scent perfume set Roo’s eyes lit up, taking in the different items included I could see her trying to work out how she would mix the fragrances together to create her very own perfume. After advising her to read through the instructions instead of jumping straight in she had a better understanding of the different notes within a perfume and how the smell of a perfume can change after 15-30 minutes.

Once she understood the principle of how to blend the notes together she set about seeing what she could create. Using the pipettes within the set she added one drop of the base, heart and one top note to begin with before getting more adventurous and adding additional top notes and/or more base and heart note drops.

FabLab Invent-a-scent perfume set - Mixing

Watching her sit and create the different perfumes, experimenting with the fragrances and making notes of which ones she liked best was wonderful to see. The first time she opened the set she happily sat there for nearly 3 hours and has subsequently been back to play with the set a number of times – she can’t wait to show it off to her friends on her next sleepover.

Price and Availability

The FabLab – Invent-a-scent perfume is priced at Β£12.99 and available direct from Interplay, Amazon and all other good toy retailers.

Take a look at what other people thought of the FabLab – Invent-a-scent perfume set:
Me and My Shadow | ET speaks from home

Giveaway

Boo Roo and Tigger Too have been lucky enough to have an additional Invent-a-scent perfume set offered as a giveaway prize to one lucky reader. To enter simply leave me a comment telling me what your favourite scent is, then complete the Gleam widget below:

FabLab Invest-a-scent perfume set

Disclosure: We received a FabLab – Invent-a-scent perfume FOC for the purpose of review

210 Comments

  • kim neville October 3, 2015 at 4:12 pm

    I like Vanilla scent

  • Jane McColl October 3, 2015 at 4:37 pm

    I love the smell of Jasmine, it’s gorgeous

  • Rebecca A Smith October 3, 2015 at 5:54 pm

    Love the scent of Rose

  • Emma Fox October 3, 2015 at 6:32 pm

    I do enjoy the smell of Chocolate

  • Lynn Heath October 3, 2015 at 6:44 pm

    I love a citrus scent!

  • Tanya Camilleri October 3, 2015 at 6:55 pm

    Lavender – very relaxing

  • Janice Mackin October 3, 2015 at 7:16 pm

    I like vanilla.

  • Louise Fairweather October 3, 2015 at 7:35 pm

    I like vanilla scents x

  • chantelle hazelden October 3, 2015 at 7:38 pm

    love vanilla x

  • Claire Elizabeth Noke October 3, 2015 at 8:33 pm

    freshly cut grass πŸ™‚

  • melanie stirling October 3, 2015 at 10:13 pm

    white musk is my favourite.

  • Tina holmes October 4, 2015 at 8:03 am

    Vanilla and floral scents

  • ashleigh allan October 4, 2015 at 8:38 am

    i like coconut!

  • Jen Schofield October 4, 2015 at 2:26 pm

    Vanilla is mine

  • Samantha R October 4, 2015 at 3:04 pm

    I love the smell of cinnamon and rose, though not together

  • STACY SORRELL October 4, 2015 at 9:24 pm

    my fave is Coconut, it reminds me of holidays

  • Samantha Loughlin October 4, 2015 at 9:49 pm

    Bergamot is my favourite scent

  • Donna Loxton October 5, 2015 at 7:05 am

    I like citrus scents

  • laura banks October 5, 2015 at 7:32 am

    i like floral smells

  • Maggie Ali October 5, 2015 at 12:32 pm

    I love vanilla and orange…. for some odd reason they remind me about Christmas when I was a child.

  • kim plant October 5, 2015 at 12:59 pm

    has to be vanilla x

  • Rebecca W October 5, 2015 at 6:12 pm

    Lavender is my favorite

  • amy bondoc October 7, 2015 at 3:31 am

    Love spiced apple in the autumn time, also love lavender

  • Rowena Wood October 7, 2015 at 4:00 am

    Lavender, I had this to calm me through labour πŸ™‚

  • Heather Haigh October 7, 2015 at 4:26 am

    jasmine or sweet orange

  • hazel knight October 7, 2015 at 6:06 am

    I love the scent of cinnamon x

  • Catherine McAlinden October 7, 2015 at 6:09 am

    The smell of Lillies

  • caroline walliss October 7, 2015 at 6:26 am

    My favourite scent is vanilla.x

  • Nicki simpson October 7, 2015 at 7:03 am

    I love clean scents like fresh linen and fabric softener ha ha x

  • Michael Beaumont October 7, 2015 at 7:07 am

    I like the smell of lavender.

  • Zoe G October 7, 2015 at 7:16 am

    Citrus scents are one of my fave

  • Emily Knight October 7, 2015 at 7:42 am

    It has to be rose – I’m slightly obsessed!

  • sandra rubery October 7, 2015 at 9:38 am

    I love vanilla

  • Vikki Sanderson October 7, 2015 at 9:55 am

    Rose is my favourite scent

  • Justin Swainson October 7, 2015 at 10:02 am

    I love the smell of lavender πŸ™‚

  • Sarah Brokenshire October 7, 2015 at 10:21 am

    I love floral scents xxx

  • Chanette Kennedy October 7, 2015 at 11:04 am

    Vanilla is my favourite scent

  • Julie Quarterman October 7, 2015 at 11:06 am

    I love the smell of fresh roses. Reminds me of my Great gran.

  • Sarah Rees October 7, 2015 at 11:25 am

    Vanilla or coconut

  • Natasha M October 7, 2015 at 11:31 am

    I love the smell of rosemary

  • Rich Tyler October 7, 2015 at 12:54 pm

    Has to be Fresh Linen

  • gemma brown October 7, 2015 at 12:13 pm

    rosemary, be interesting to see if that could go in a perfume

  • julie kenny October 7, 2015 at 12:29 pm

    lavender is so lovely x

  • Becky Yeomans October 7, 2015 at 12:44 pm

    I love anything smelling of cherry!!

  • abigail edkins October 7, 2015 at 12:53 pm

    my fave scent is peach

  • Anne-Marie Wigley October 7, 2015 at 1:30 pm

    i love the smell of honeysuckle and jasmine πŸ˜€

  • Alica October 7, 2015 at 1:37 pm

    I like musk πŸ™‚

  • John Tingay October 7, 2015 at 2:04 pm

    anything with a hint of citrus, especially lemon.

  • Nicola Biven October 7, 2015 at 2:04 pm

    I love a freshly baked bread scent mmm

  • Lindsey Stuart October 7, 2015 at 5:53 pm

    I like the scent of sweet candy

  • Caroline H October 7, 2015 at 6:14 pm

    I love the scent of basil.

  • Emma Gibson October 7, 2015 at 6:31 pm

    Either cinnamon or vanilla.

  • Trudi Walsh October 7, 2015 at 8:39 pm

    I love the smell of cinnamon

  • Val Swift October 7, 2015 at 8:12 pm

    I love the smell of Violets

  • Lynsey Buchanan October 7, 2015 at 8:19 pm

    I love the scent of Jasmine

  • victoria thurgood October 7, 2015 at 9:16 pm

    i like coconut

  • Robyn Logan Clarke October 7, 2015 at 10:41 pm

    I love lily of the valley

  • jennifer thorpe October 8, 2015 at 8:03 am

    Vanilla is my favourite scent

  • helen tovell October 8, 2015 at 9:20 am

    My favourite is freesia

  • Jo Carroll October 8, 2015 at 10:07 am

    I’ve always had a real soft spot for Lavendar. x

  • Jo m Welsh October 8, 2015 at 12:15 pm

    I love laver

    • Jo m Welsh October 8, 2015 at 12:15 pm

      That is meant to say lavender

  • Karen Nagle October 8, 2015 at 3:51 pm

    I love Bergamot.

  • gemgemmum October 8, 2015 at 5:34 pm

    Jasmine is lovely.

  • kimberley ryan October 8, 2015 at 10:56 pm

    I like fruity smells like strawberry

  • dari October 8, 2015 at 10:59 pm

    anything floral, like rose

  • Isabelle Smith October 8, 2015 at 11:56 pm

    coconut x x x

  • BECCA STAPLES October 9, 2015 at 9:14 am

    Has to be fresh linen for me x

  • Laura Jeffs October 9, 2015 at 4:36 pm

    I love the scent of VANILLA

  • Leanne Newsome October 9, 2015 at 6:25 pm

    I love Fruity scents

  • Ella L October 9, 2015 at 9:40 pm

    White Musk I love it

  • leanne weir October 9, 2015 at 9:41 pm

    I love the scent of Jasmine

  • katrina walsh October 10, 2015 at 1:29 pm

    cherry blossom is my fave scent

  • Kat Lucas October 11, 2015 at 7:25 am

    Lilacs are my fav scent

  • Dorota Amellal October 11, 2015 at 3:34 pm

    Smell of watermelon

  • michelle hamilton October 12, 2015 at 7:58 pm

    i like Jasmine

  • KT Alderson October 13, 2015 at 3:58 pm

    Vanilla is my fav – I also love ‘candy’ type smells too πŸ™‚

  • anisa October 13, 2015 at 4:04 pm

    I just love earthy smells. Nothing too overwhelming you see.

  • Paula Barker October 13, 2015 at 4:09 pm

    Freesia a beautiful scent, that has lots of memories for me

  • clair downham October 13, 2015 at 4:16 pm

    chanel no 5 thankyou

  • Claire D October 13, 2015 at 4:50 pm

    Oranges is my favourite scent

  • Lauren Tourle October 13, 2015 at 4:56 pm

    I love any citrus smell πŸ™‚

  • Lyla October 13, 2015 at 5:21 pm

    I love Miss Dior

  • MARK THOMAS October 13, 2015 at 5:52 pm

    I love Lavendar

  • samantha walker October 13, 2015 at 7:07 pm

    i actually love the smell of roses and fresh flowers πŸ™‚

  • Sarah Davison October 13, 2015 at 8:08 pm

    White musk is my favourite

  • Sean Downer October 13, 2015 at 8:17 pm

    My fav scent is blueberry

  • Angela McDonald October 13, 2015 at 8:25 pm

    Fresh lillies is my favourite scent

  • Emily Foran October 13, 2015 at 8:26 pm

    Great review! Tilly had a similar set and really loved it, I was very interested to hear a bit about the art of perfumery – it’s something I’d love to have a spare minute to read up on myself #TriedTested

  • RACHEL BUSTIN October 13, 2015 at 8:45 pm

    I love the smell of roses xx

  • Caroline Blaza October 13, 2015 at 9:11 pm

    I like scents with musk in x

  • genna st michael October 13, 2015 at 9:37 pm

    baby powder, fresh washing, baking bread, coco butter, bluebells and melted chocolate . . . these are a few of my favourite scents!

  • Max Power October 14, 2015 at 1:53 am

    The smell of cookies baking

  • Vicky Osborne October 14, 2015 at 1:56 am

    Lavender is my favourite smell

  • sarah rees October 14, 2015 at 7:28 am

    euphoria by calvin klein

  • laura stewart October 14, 2015 at 11:55 am

    roses i like xx

  • Jessica Powell October 14, 2015 at 8:47 pm

    Creosote! It’s a bit of an untapped market when it comes to perfumes though… πŸ™‚

  • Esme MCCRUBB October 14, 2015 at 8:31 pm

    HONEYUUCKLE IS MY FAVOURITE

  • Sheryl Keene October 15, 2015 at 7:44 am

    Baking bread, Paloma, Lemon Verbena, Lavender… The list goes on when I begin to think about it.

  • Helen Atkins October 15, 2015 at 8:51 am

    Lavender so relaxing

  • Jon Sellers October 15, 2015 at 9:00 am

    Aqua da Parma perfume and after shave is my favourite

  • hayley darby October 15, 2015 at 3:06 pm

    white musk x

  • rebecca nisbet October 15, 2015 at 10:37 pm

    i like fresh and fruity smells

  • Natasha Mairs October 16, 2015 at 5:27 pm

    I love fruity smells and also vanilla, me and my daughter would love playing this together

  • betony Bennett October 16, 2015 at 6:26 pm

    Lavender is my favourite scent

  • Corinne Peat October 16, 2015 at 7:49 pm

    I love the smell of lavender

  • michelle speight October 17, 2015 at 1:11 pm

    i love fruity smells something to remind me of summer

  • Linda McGarrigle October 17, 2015 at 5:20 pm

    I love the fruity smells like Dewberry x

  • Ashley Phillips October 18, 2015 at 11:44 am

    I love the smell of tulips

  • Julie Ward October 18, 2015 at 3:25 pm

    Jasmin and Bergamote

  • Jennifer Toal October 18, 2015 at 4:32 pm

    Delicious DKNY I like fruity smells

  • Pam Francis Gregory October 18, 2015 at 4:58 pm

    Vanilla is my fave

  • Kathrine B October 18, 2015 at 6:11 pm

    I love love love vanilla!

  • gillian burden October 18, 2015 at 7:09 pm

    it has to be lavender i love it very calming x

  • esther james October 18, 2015 at 8:30 pm

    I love the smell of cinnamon

  • CHRISTINE SUTHERLAND October 18, 2015 at 8:47 pm

    love the smell of honeysuckle

  • Kay Broomfield October 19, 2015 at 10:37 am

    I love floral based scents like Gucci Flora.

  • Julie Edwards October 19, 2015 at 4:01 pm

    I love the smell of freesias xx

  • Solange October 19, 2015 at 8:48 pm

    I love vanilla.

  • Patricia Avery October 19, 2015 at 9:05 pm

    My favourite smell is the one that lingers on a new baby for the first few weeks πŸ™‚

  • Laura wilson October 20, 2015 at 6:47 am

    I love citrus type smells and florals πŸ™‚

  • Eileen Tingle October 20, 2015 at 7:27 am

    I love the smell of fuscias

  • Phyllis May Ellett October 20, 2015 at 7:47 am

    Vanilla or Jasmin are both joint favourites.

  • michelle pierce October 20, 2015 at 10:11 am

    i love the smell of lavender,nice and calming

  • Kerry Bennett October 20, 2015 at 12:05 pm

    I love the smell of flowers

  • Angie Hoggett October 20, 2015 at 12:09 pm

    freshly cut roses

  • Sarah Swainsbury October 20, 2015 at 12:56 pm

    Love the smell of carnations x

  • Rachael Pilkington October 20, 2015 at 1:51 pm

    I love lavender

  • Tammy Tudor October 20, 2015 at 8:55 pm

    i love the scent of Chocolate

  • jodie harvey October 20, 2015 at 9:01 pm

    i love the smell of vanilla or blackberry

  • Tim Woolfenden October 21, 2015 at 6:07 am

    Love the smell of jasmine

  • Lynsey Spraggs October 21, 2015 at 9:31 am

    I love vanilla, I find it warm and clean

  • Greig spencer October 21, 2015 at 10:58 am

    the smell of carnationS ARE NICE

  • donna l jones October 21, 2015 at 12:14 pm

    love the smell of lemons

  • Katherine Coldicott October 21, 2015 at 1:23 pm

    I love the smell of Cinnamon.

  • elaine stokes October 21, 2015 at 1:31 pm

    I love smell of roses

  • Kelly Hanson October 21, 2015 at 3:21 pm

    Rosemary. It reminds me of my Nan cooking chicken when I was little. Though I wouldn’t want to wear it as a perfume!

  • Emma Ellison October 21, 2015 at 4:48 pm

    l love vanilla x

  • Karen R October 21, 2015 at 6:20 pm

    I love the smell of roses πŸ˜€

  • Sheri Darby October 21, 2015 at 6:36 pm

    I love the smell of summer rain

  • EJ Dunn October 21, 2015 at 7:33 pm

    I love Arabic ouds – Princess Hamidah is my favourite

  • Lisa Wilkinson October 21, 2015 at 8:35 pm

    I love the smell of Bergamot

  • leah Jones October 21, 2015 at 8:36 pm

    my favourite has to be the smell of tarmac after its rained……strange i know.

  • Lani Nash October 21, 2015 at 10:23 pm

    I love the smell of cinnamon

  • jemma dwyer October 22, 2015 at 12:30 am

    coconut is my fav x

  • Jade Hewlett October 22, 2015 at 6:39 am

    I like the smell of Mint

  • jo liddement October 22, 2015 at 8:15 am

    I love the scent of roses especially the old fashioned ,highly scented variety

  • MichelleD October 22, 2015 at 8:44 am

    I love Vanilla and cinnamon!

  • Simon G October 22, 2015 at 9:01 am

    Orange blosssom and vanilla

  • Ray Becker October 22, 2015 at 9:21 am

    Paris is my favourite

  • amanda davis October 22, 2015 at 11:12 am

    My fav is coconut

  • Kerry Kilmister October 22, 2015 at 11:30 am

    I love the smell of Lavender

  • Andrew Hindley October 22, 2015 at 11:47 am

    My favourite scent is Clinic Arromatic

  • Emilia nastaly-howard October 22, 2015 at 12:15 pm

    I love Sandalwood πŸ™‚

  • Sarah Mills October 22, 2015 at 12:44 pm

    my favourite has to be lavender

  • Rebecca Howells October 22, 2015 at 2:35 pm

    Can’t beat fresh citrus

  • Diana October 22, 2015 at 2:52 pm

    My favourite is lavander πŸ™‚

  • stephen holman October 22, 2015 at 3:10 pm

    my favourite is Vanilla

  • caroline james October 22, 2015 at 4:35 pm

    I love fruity scents like berries and apples.

  • Lisa Houston October 22, 2015 at 4:52 pm

    I love the smell of the sea

  • Caroline Bourne October 22, 2015 at 6:00 pm

    My favourite is Lavender

  • Jenny Jones October 22, 2015 at 6:07 pm

    It has to be roses πŸ™‚

  • Rachel Wise October 22, 2015 at 7:32 pm

    I love the scent of Rose

  • Karen Dixon October 22, 2015 at 7:56 pm

    I love the smell of coconut and cocoa butter

  • Sarah Parker October 22, 2015 at 8:03 pm

    I love rose πŸ™‚

  • karen Howden October 22, 2015 at 8:09 pm

    Rose is one of my favourites

  • Amy Lambert October 22, 2015 at 8:31 pm

    my favourite scent is cocoa butter

  • Pauline Wilson October 22, 2015 at 8:37 pm

    I love the smell of coconut

  • JAMIE MILLARD October 22, 2015 at 8:55 pm

    the smell of lime.

  • Kerry Smith October 22, 2015 at 9:09 pm

    I love Vivienne Westwood boudoir

  • Caroline Signey October 22, 2015 at 9:28 pm

    I like all of the Ghost fragrances

  • Claire Willmer October 22, 2015 at 9:43 pm

    vanilla or white musk πŸ™‚

  • Debbie Preston October 22, 2015 at 10:03 pm

    Vanilla or summer fruit scents

  • claire little October 22, 2015 at 10:28 pm

    fruity and flowery

  • ellie spider October 22, 2015 at 10:46 pm

    I love citrus smells πŸ™‚

  • Jen Conn October 23, 2015 at 1:19 am

    I love Vanilla !

  • alice lightning October 23, 2015 at 3:09 am

    love sweet pea and rose

  • barbara clarke October 23, 2015 at 5:34 am

    i love lavender

  • Hekna October 23, 2015 at 6:32 am

    I love anything with lemon

  • roley martin October 23, 2015 at 7:14 am

    Im lemon mad! So love it ! x

  • Karen Laing October 23, 2015 at 7:14 am

    Lily of the Valley,whenever I walk past someone’s garden and they grow this the perfume is just incredible and they have the most beautiful dainty little flowers, x

  • Sarah Lewis October 23, 2015 at 7:33 am

    I love Calvin Klein, Eternity

  • Emily Hutchinson October 23, 2015 at 9:36 am

    I love anything with Patchouli in it

  • Stevie October 23, 2015 at 9:51 am

    I like the Baylis and Harding mint range for blokes.

  • Little ms sarah October 23, 2015 at 10:29 am

    Love the smell of musk. Brings back some lovely childhood memories.
    This is a great competition, my daughter would love this kit. Hopefully it would put a stop to her stealing my expensive perfume! X

  • Emma Jones October 23, 2015 at 11:43 am

    I love vanilla and musk smells

  • Nick B October 23, 2015 at 10:47 am

    I like Bergamot

  • Lesley Bradley October 23, 2015 at 11:15 am

    I love the smell of privet flowers! Never found a perfume containing them though haha

  • Colette Sheeran October 23, 2015 at 11:30 am

    I love the smell of Jasmine. Reminds me of balmy summer evenings.

  • Sandra Thomas October 23, 2015 at 11:32 am

    musk is amazing

  • Mummy Fever October 23, 2015 at 12:02 pm

    Lime or cherry

  • Lisa Pond October 23, 2015 at 12:25 pm

    Would love it if they would come up with a new born baby scent! Best smell in the world I like woody scents too

  • Minnie15 October 23, 2015 at 1:28 pm

    Patchouli – so heavenly! πŸ™‚ x

  • Barbara Handley October 23, 2015 at 1:37 pm

    I like lavender as it is so relaxing.

  • sharon martin October 23, 2015 at 1:37 pm

    i love the smell of Freesia’s

  • Barbara Jane Shaw October 23, 2015 at 2:30 pm

    anything citrus, love a bergamot blend

  • samantha Saunders October 23, 2015 at 2:40 pm

    Love citrus smells

  • tishist October 23, 2015 at 2:51 pm

    Musk is my favourite

  • alison clark October 23, 2015 at 5:47 pm

    I love the smell of fresh flowers however in perfume i prefer a more musky smell.

  • Emma October 23, 2015 at 6:13 pm

    Either Lavender or jasmine

  • Natalie Gillham October 23, 2015 at 7:08 pm

    I love the scent of vanilla

  • sarah-dawn pope October 23, 2015 at 8:21 pm

    Patchouli is my favourite

  • Katarina McKinlay October 23, 2015 at 9:19 pm

    I LOVE patchouli πŸ™‚ thanks for the chance x

  • Kirsty Greer October 23, 2015 at 9:27 pm

    I love vanilla x

  • Michelle Cheeseman October 23, 2015 at 9:34 pm

    My favourite scent is Chanel Allure : )

  • Brenda Wilkes October 23, 2015 at 9:43 pm

    This has been my favourite for many years – Poison

  • Victoria B October 23, 2015 at 9:50 pm

    Anything citrus is my favourite

  • jo maxted October 23, 2015 at 9:55 pm

    i love vanilla or cherry xx

  • Monica Gilbert October 23, 2015 at 10:06 pm

    I like vanilla.

  • Gemma Chantler October 23, 2015 at 10:25 pm

    I love the smell of Coconut

  • Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    Award-winning family lifestyle and top 10 UK parenting/mum blog. Join Boo Roo and Tigger Too sharing family life, home decor, travel and everything in between. Read More

    Subscribe & Follow

    Awards

    • Vuelio - Top 10 UK Mummy Blog 2019
    ×