My Friend Cayla – Interactive doll {Review}

My Friend Cayla is not just a doll, she’s like a real friend with MILLIONS of things to say!  She can tell you about herself, her family, hobbies and so much more.  Cayla can also answer general knowledge questions about lots of different subjects, like countries, animals and sports.  It’s AMAZING what she knows! Cayla has kid safe internet search filters and by using speech-to-text technology she can understand almost anything you say!

My Friend Cayla - Interactive doll

What can you do with Cayla?

  • Ask questions about loads of things like animals, maths, countries, spelling, space and more (requires internet connection)
  • Chat about clothes, food, family, school, hobbies and lots more (requires internet connection)
  • Cayla will love to tell you stories
  • Okay games like noughts and crosses together
  • Look at Cayla’s photo albums and she will tell you about what she’s been up to

How to connect My Friend Cayla to your tablet or smartphone

My Friend Cayla can be connected to an iOS or Android tablet or smartphone in order to access games, stories and lots more.

  1. Download: Download the free app onto your iOS or Android tablet or smartphone via the App Store or Google Play
  2. Sync: Connect Cayla to your device via Bluetooth wireless technology
  3. Play: Open the app, select the activity and Cayla’s ready to Play! Select from asking her lots of questions, play games, tell each other stories and lots more.

My Friend Cayla - App

Boo Roo and Tigger Too’s thoughts…

We found that the success rate of Cayla understanding what she was asked and in turn gave us a correct answer very variable – it was much better if I asked her questions rather than Roo and if the room was silent (not easy with a three year old running around).  Roo was quite frustrated when Cayla answered something different to what she had asked and as this was a good 7 out of 10 times I could understand her frustrations.

The app works better on iOS than Android with access to more questions and content, which being an Android family is a little disappointing that the content hasn’t been released to both versions of the app.  The app itself however works quite well and Roo enjoyed playing games with Cayla and listening to her read stories.

Available from Tesco with a Β£59.99 RRP, however currently on offer for Β£49.99 – personally I don’t think the RRP offers good value for money and that the technology needs to be improved so that Cayla understands the questions that a child is asking.

Take a look at what other people thought of the My Friend Cayla:

Jennifer’s Little World | The Ana Mum DiaryBlog by Baby | Stressed Rach

Disclosure: We received a My Friend Cayla FOC for the purpose of review.

Mummy of Two
Follow:

74 Comments

  1. Pingback: My Friend Cayla - Interactive doll {#Giveaway} - Ends 31/10/14 - Boo Roo and Tigger Too
  2. Louise Smith
    October 15, 2014 / 9:09 pm

    My 6 year old hasalready got this on her list for Father Christmas

  3. Felicity Kelly
    October 15, 2014 / 10:15 pm

    I love the interactive element of this doll, just what you need in this day and age!

  4. Leanne Lunn
    October 15, 2014 / 10:46 pm

    It’s great to read a great review about Cayla my daughter would love her for christmas

  5. October 15, 2014 / 11:05 pm

    Wow! This is way better than those pull-string dolls I had that just said ‘mama’ over and over. πŸ™‚ My Pumpkin is a little young for this now, so I can’t imagine what will be available in a couple of years when she is old enough!

  6. Sharon Hingley
    October 15, 2014 / 11:25 pm

    I love the fact that she combines both educational and role play, it will be a big hit in this family.

  7. Elaine Savage
    October 16, 2014 / 7:57 am

    great review, definitely on my list to look out for!

  8. Mrs Rachel Heap
    October 16, 2014 / 9:18 am

    This looks great i would love one of these for my daughters – great review

  9. stacy sorrell
    October 16, 2014 / 12:55 pm

    This looks amazing, i keep seeing the adverts, this would really help with my little one’s education, as well as being a friend for her. id never be able to afford something so expensive though, thank you for this amazing opportunity x

  10. October 16, 2014 / 12:56 pm

    I’m glad that it wasn’t just us that didn’t get the correct answer every time! Thanks for linking to my review πŸ™‚

  11. laura jayne bates
    October 16, 2014 / 1:00 pm

    This doll looks fantastic never mind getting it for my daughter i want one lol

  12. Linda F McGarrigle
    October 16, 2014 / 1:02 pm

    Doll looks great by far the best interactive doll i have seen yet x

  13. Sue Bowden
    October 16, 2014 / 1:49 pm

    I enjoyed reading your review and think that you gave a very honest opinion of the doll. The advert was good and I’m sure that there will be lots of little girls putting Cayla on their Christmas list

  14. Joanne Baldwin
    October 16, 2014 / 4:55 pm

    Great review, useful to know it works best in a quiet room! Cayla sounds absolutely amazing. My 6 year old daughter was reading over my shoulder and got really excited!

  15. hannonle
    October 16, 2014 / 6:15 pm

    I love that this doll will help a child with independent learning. It’s a shame voice technology isn’t better but it sounds like all subjects are covered. Also it’s good that you can just play and have fun too.

  16. Laura Tonks
    October 16, 2014 / 6:38 pm

    This looks fab! My step daughter would love it! I love the little outfits!

  17. Sandra Lane
    October 16, 2014 / 6:57 pm

    I would love to give it to my daughter for Christmas. Cayla is so lifelike and has some gorgeous outfits.

  18. October 16, 2014 / 7:04 pm

    Great review…..My girl has asked for this for Christmas….It does sound like a very clever doll.

  19. ALISON M
    October 16, 2014 / 9:33 pm

    Unfortunately voice recognition technology hasn’t really improved since the late 90s when Dragon Dictate hit the commercial market. Understanding accents and a child’s voice will pose problems for the best software and I can understand why this would lead to frustration in younger kids especially (who haven’t mastered the art of talking consistently yet). Good review.

  20. Amanda Brett
    October 16, 2014 / 9:40 pm

    My Niece is desperate for this doll,it would make her Christmas if i were able to give her this πŸ™‚ xx

  21. vicky cockett
    October 17, 2014 / 9:44 am

    i love that she can tell you stories and play games, how lovely is this doll.

  22. October 17, 2014 / 9:55 am

    Would love this for my Granddaughter.

  23. Michele Elton
    October 17, 2014 / 10:04 am

    What a lovely, honest review. This is on my daughters Christmas list and she already has a huge list of questions she wants to ask her! I did wonder just how knowledgeable this doll would be and you have answered my questions perfectly – thank you!

  24. October 17, 2014 / 10:32 am

    I think my twins would love this for Christmas. Thanks for a great review.

  25. Mary Dailey
    October 17, 2014 / 3:10 pm

    I love that the child can interact with the doll and I also like that she looks like a little girl.

  26. October 17, 2014 / 3:47 pm

    wow – even Β£50 seems steep but this doll does look pretty awesome πŸ˜‰

  27. rebecca nisbet
    October 17, 2014 / 8:21 pm

    its good to see a doll that isnt dressed like mutton with a full bodied figure

  28. Jane McColl
    October 18, 2014 / 12:49 am

    Love this doll, so cute

  29. Harley
    October 18, 2014 / 8:43 am

    I’m glad her lips do not move else I think she will have crossed the road into scary-ville x

  30. katie skeoch
    October 18, 2014 / 9:17 am

    I think it’s a good idea and the kids would play with it, but it may be one that I leave in the house during a road trip!!

  31. kayleigh white
    October 18, 2014 / 3:43 pm

    I used to be really petrified of dolls. To be honest, I find her quite charming, but a little bit eerie. Hey, it’s not for me though, so who cares!

  32. samantha
    October 18, 2014 / 6:42 pm

    I love this doll

  33. October 20, 2014 / 5:56 am

    I have heard mixed reviews about this doll. I love the idea in principle and would love a play but think it will be a few years before we look at anything like this for our daughter. Thanks for sharing with #Playtime

  34. angela
    October 20, 2014 / 5:38 pm

    this doll will be popular with little girls

  35. October 21, 2014 / 5:53 am

    My Grandaughter would love this

  36. zoe sirrell
    October 21, 2014 / 4:37 pm

    smart phones now smart dolls

  37. Sophie Boatman
    October 21, 2014 / 10:05 pm

    This has to be the number 1 Xmas present ! So cute and clever πŸ™‚

  38. Amanda Beamish
    October 23, 2014 / 7:44 am

    She’s cute. I think she’ll be on a lot of little girls letters to Santa this year πŸ™‚

  39. James Eyles
    October 23, 2014 / 9:59 am

    This is perfect for any little Girl!

  40. tracy sinclair
    October 23, 2014 / 9:38 pm

    Awww, I love her, super cool, I think kids would love her too x

  41. Laura Pyper
    October 24, 2014 / 6:24 am

    my little girl would love this doll

  42. October 24, 2014 / 12:12 pm

    She looks amazing, I can see why my Lily has got her on her xmas list this year x

  43. Keri Jones
    October 24, 2014 / 3:40 pm

    I love the look of this doll. I love the fact you can link it with a tablet to get more from it. It does sound disappointing that she doesn’t always understand what she is being asked though :/

  44. Ruth Davies
    October 24, 2014 / 6:15 pm

    It amazes me how things change so fast the thought that it now hooks up to tablet! My little girl would also love to have this

  45. julie perry
    October 25, 2014 / 2:50 pm

    What a fabulous doll…love the way she combines fun with learning…Jorgie would love her πŸ™‚

  46. Shelley Jessup
    October 25, 2014 / 10:01 pm

    I know Sophie would be in her element with Cayla! Such a clever doll!

  47. October 25, 2014 / 10:38 pm

    So jealous! Wish we had dolls like this when we were kids.

  48. kim neville
    October 26, 2014 / 9:47 am

    Lovely doll and clever at what she can do

  49. Rebecca Taylor
    October 27, 2014 / 12:30 pm

    Very clever, would make a great gift for any little girl (or boy!)

  50. Tracey Thompson
    October 28, 2014 / 5:29 pm

    what a great idea and educational too

  51. claire sen
    October 28, 2014 / 7:38 pm

    I can’t believe how much dolls have changed since I was little! (that makes me feel old but its so true)

  52. shell_shoez27
    October 28, 2014 / 10:30 pm

    I Have to be honest normally with dolls I find them very scary but this one is wonderful its not stick thin and looks great!

  53. Wendy Jones
    October 28, 2014 / 11:53 pm

    Any little girl would love this doll and maybe a few moms too! (and nan’s)

  54. pm liu
    October 29, 2014 / 9:31 am

    nice looking doll, doesn’t look creepy like all the other baby dolls, my little one would love this

  55. Judith Luscombe
    October 29, 2014 / 11:05 am

    I would have loved Cayla when I was a little girl and Im sure my little granddaughter would love her now

  56. Rishona Taylor
    October 29, 2014 / 8:51 pm

    I can imagine the frustration of not being replied to, so yes the RRP does seem a little steep. It’s great to see the internet safety in there though, but linking up to the app is always a pain, especially when it means the kids steal the tablet for ages! lol

  57. Jackie Chapman
    October 29, 2014 / 9:01 pm

    I wish they’d had dolls like this when I was a little girl

  58. olivia Kirby
    October 29, 2014 / 9:48 pm

    Melody has expressed an interest in this doll, I think it;s a little pricey so not sure she’ll be getting it!

  59. October 29, 2014 / 10:56 pm

    these dolls sound amazing. i think its great tool to encourage children to get back to basics and enoy playing make believe with a special friend.also encouraging speech in shy children.

  60. jessica newman
    October 30, 2014 / 9:46 am

    i kow a little girl who would love her

  61. Fleur
    October 30, 2014 / 11:39 am

    So much more than a doll I want to play with her too !

  62. Catherine Bell
    October 30, 2014 / 1:49 pm

    This looks great, my neice would love it.

  63. October 30, 2014 / 8:39 pm

    My daughter would absolutely fall in love with her! I’m amazed what dolls can do now! Back when I was little, they had just started to cry and wee lol!

  64. lp99287
    October 30, 2014 / 9:57 pm

    She looks brill, I want one x

  65. Melanie
    October 30, 2014 / 10:28 pm

    Excellent review. I would love one for my little god daughter.

  66. Karl Borowy
    October 31, 2014 / 12:05 am

    its an amazing dolly

  67. Natalie Crossan
    October 31, 2014 / 1:16 am

    She looks wonderful, exactly the kind of toy my daughter loves πŸ™‚ xx

  68. alice lightning
    October 31, 2014 / 2:01 am

    this doll looks amazing any little girl would love this

  69. Vicky Robinson
    October 31, 2014 / 2:35 pm

    This is fabulous! I’m sure my daughters would find her amazing! If only we had had dolls like this when I was small!

  70. LEE HARDY
    October 31, 2014 / 5:29 pm

    My daughter would love.

  71. teresa sheldon
    October 31, 2014 / 9:05 pm

    A great review ver y honest and detailed a little girls perfect companion and educational keeping us parents happy too, thanks

  72. October 31, 2014 / 9:08 pm

    What a lovely present for a little girl. I still remember my Tiny Tears!

  73. claire bingham
    October 31, 2014 / 11:19 pm

    After my daughter played with this at a friends she is now obsessed with having one, is totally amazing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.