My Friend Cayla – Interactive doll {Review}

October 15, 2014

My Friend Cayla – Interactive doll {Review}

October 15, 2014

My Friend Cayla is not just a doll, she’s like a real friend with MILLIONS of things to say! She can tell you about herself, her family, hobbies and so much more. Cayla can also answer general knowledge questions about lots of different subjects, like countries, animals and sports. It’s AMAZING what she knows! Cayla has kid safe internet search filters and by using speech-to-text technology she can understand almost anything you say!

My Friend Cayla - Interactive doll

What can you do with Cayla?

  • Ask questions about loads of things like animals, maths, countries, spelling, space and more (requires internet connection)
  • Chat about clothes, food, family, school, hobbies and lots more (requires internet connection)
  • Cayla will love to tell you stories
  • Okay games like noughts and crosses together
  • Look at Cayla’s photo albums and she will tell you about what she’s been up to

How to connect My Friend Cayla to your tablet or smartphone

My Friend Cayla can be connected to an iOS or Android tablet or smartphone in order to access games, stories and lots more.

  1. Download: Download the free app onto your iOS or Android tablet or smartphone via the App Store or Google Play
  2. Sync: Connect Cayla to your device via Bluetooth wireless technology
  3. Play: Open the app, select the activity and Cayla’s ready to Play! Select from asking her lots of questions, play games, tell each other stories and lots more.

My Friend Cayla - App

Boo Roo and Tigger Too’s thoughts…

We found that the success rate of Cayla understanding what she was asked and in turn gave us a correct answer very variable – it was much better if I asked her questions rather than Roo and if the room was silent (not easy with a three year old running around). Roo was quite frustrated when Cayla answered something different to what she had asked and as this was a good 7 out of 10 times I could understand her frustrations.

The app works better on iOS than Android with access to more questions and content, which being an Android family is a little disappointing that the content hasn’t been released to both versions of the app. The app itself however works quite well and Roo enjoyed playing games with Cayla and listening to her read stories.

Available from Tesco with a £59.99 RRP, however currently on offer for £49.99 – personally I don’t think the RRP offers good value for money and that the technology needs to be improved so that Cayla understands the questions that a child is asking.

Take a look at what other people thought of the My Friend Cayla:

Jennifer’s Little World | The Ana Mum DiaryBlog by Baby | Stressed Rach

Disclosure: We received a My Friend Cayla FOC for the purpose of review.

Mummy of Two

74 Comments

  • My Friend Cayla - Interactive doll {#Giveaway} - Ends 31/10/14 - Boo Roo and Tigger Too October 15, 2014 at 8:09 pm

    […] celebrate Boo Roo and Tigger Too’s recent My Friend Cayla review, we are lucky enough to offer one lucky reader the chance to win their very own My Friend […]

  • Louise Smith October 15, 2014 at 9:09 pm

    My 6 year old hasalready got this on her list for Father Christmas

  • Felicity Kelly October 15, 2014 at 10:15 pm

    I love the interactive element of this doll, just what you need in this day and age!

  • Leanne Lunn October 15, 2014 at 10:46 pm

    It’s great to read a great review about Cayla my daughter would love her for christmas

  • Shannon October 15, 2014 at 11:05 pm

    Wow! This is way better than those pull-string dolls I had that just said ‘mama’ over and over. 🙂 My Pumpkin is a little young for this now, so I can’t imagine what will be available in a couple of years when she is old enough!

  • Sharon Hingley October 15, 2014 at 11:25 pm

    I love the fact that she combines both educational and role play, it will be a big hit in this family.

  • Elaine Savage October 16, 2014 at 7:57 am

    great review, definitely on my list to look out for!

  • Mrs Rachel Heap October 16, 2014 at 9:18 am

    This looks great i would love one of these for my daughters – great review

  • stacy sorrell October 16, 2014 at 12:55 pm

    This looks amazing, i keep seeing the adverts, this would really help with my little one’s education, as well as being a friend for her. id never be able to afford something so expensive though, thank you for this amazing opportunity x

  • Jennifer October 16, 2014 at 12:56 pm

    I’m glad that it wasn’t just us that didn’t get the correct answer every time! Thanks for linking to my review 🙂

  • laura jayne bates October 16, 2014 at 1:00 pm

    This doll looks fantastic never mind getting it for my daughter i want one lol

  • Linda F McGarrigle October 16, 2014 at 1:02 pm

    Doll looks great by far the best interactive doll i have seen yet x

  • Sue Bowden October 16, 2014 at 1:49 pm

    I enjoyed reading your review and think that you gave a very honest opinion of the doll. The advert was good and I’m sure that there will be lots of little girls putting Cayla on their Christmas list

  • Joanne Baldwin October 16, 2014 at 4:55 pm

    Great review, useful to know it works best in a quiet room! Cayla sounds absolutely amazing. My 6 year old daughter was reading over my shoulder and got really excited!

  • hannonle October 16, 2014 at 6:15 pm

    I love that this doll will help a child with independent learning. It’s a shame voice technology isn’t better but it sounds like all subjects are covered. Also it’s good that you can just play and have fun too.

  • Laura Tonks October 16, 2014 at 6:38 pm

    This looks fab! My step daughter would love it! I love the little outfits!

  • Sandra Lane October 16, 2014 at 6:57 pm

    I would love to give it to my daughter for Christmas. Cayla is so lifelike and has some gorgeous outfits.

  • Kim Carberry October 16, 2014 at 7:04 pm

    Great review…..My girl has asked for this for Christmas….It does sound like a very clever doll.

  • ALISON M October 16, 2014 at 9:33 pm

    Unfortunately voice recognition technology hasn’t really improved since the late 90s when Dragon Dictate hit the commercial market. Understanding accents and a child’s voice will pose problems for the best software and I can understand why this would lead to frustration in younger kids especially (who haven’t mastered the art of talking consistently yet). Good review.

  • Amanda Brett October 16, 2014 at 9:40 pm

    My Niece is desperate for this doll,it would make her Christmas if i were able to give her this 🙂 xx

  • vicky cockett October 17, 2014 at 9:44 am

    i love that she can tell you stories and play games, how lovely is this doll.

  • Jane English October 17, 2014 at 9:55 am

    Would love this for my Granddaughter.

  • Michele Elton October 17, 2014 at 10:04 am

    What a lovely, honest review. This is on my daughters Christmas list and she already has a huge list of questions she wants to ask her! I did wonder just how knowledgeable this doll would be and you have answered my questions perfectly – thank you!

  • Mari October 17, 2014 at 10:32 am

    I think my twins would love this for Christmas. Thanks for a great review.

  • Mary Dailey October 17, 2014 at 3:10 pm

    I love that the child can interact with the doll and I also like that she looks like a little girl.

  • wallyMummy October 17, 2014 at 3:47 pm

    wow – even £50 seems steep but this doll does look pretty awesome 😉

  • rebecca nisbet October 17, 2014 at 8:21 pm

    its good to see a doll that isnt dressed like mutton with a full bodied figure

  • Jane McColl October 18, 2014 at 12:49 am

    Love this doll, so cute

  • Harley October 18, 2014 at 8:43 am

    I’m glad her lips do not move else I think she will have crossed the road into scary-ville x

  • katie skeoch October 18, 2014 at 9:17 am

    I think it’s a good idea and the kids would play with it, but it may be one that I leave in the house during a road trip!!

  • kayleigh white October 18, 2014 at 3:43 pm

    I used to be really petrified of dolls. To be honest, I find her quite charming, but a little bit eerie. Hey, it’s not for me though, so who cares!

  • samantha October 18, 2014 at 6:42 pm

    I love this doll

  • Mummy of Two October 20, 2014 at 5:56 am

    I have heard mixed reviews about this doll. I love the idea in principle and would love a play but think it will be a few years before we look at anything like this for our daughter. Thanks for sharing with #Playtime

  • angela October 20, 2014 at 5:38 pm

    this doll will be popular with little girls

  • Julie Crank October 21, 2014 at 5:53 am

    My Grandaughter would love this

  • zoe sirrell October 21, 2014 at 4:37 pm

    smart phones now smart dolls

  • Sophie Boatman October 21, 2014 at 10:05 pm

    This has to be the number 1 Xmas present ! So cute and clever 🙂

  • #Playtime Week 13 - October 23, 2014 at 5:01 am

    […] bin featuring dinosaurs and Boo Roo and Tigger Too had some more great Christmas present ideas with My Friend Cayla and the Teksta Robotic T-Rex. I look forward to reading all of your posts and gaining some play […]

  • Amanda Beamish October 23, 2014 at 7:44 am

    She’s cute. I think she’ll be on a lot of little girls letters to Santa this year 🙂

  • James Eyles October 23, 2014 at 9:59 am

    This is perfect for any little Girl!

  • tracy sinclair October 23, 2014 at 9:38 pm

    Awww, I love her, super cool, I think kids would love her too x

  • Laura Pyper October 24, 2014 at 6:24 am

    my little girl would love this doll

  • christine taylor October 24, 2014 at 12:12 pm

    She looks amazing, I can see why my Lily has got her on her xmas list this year x

  • Keri Jones October 24, 2014 at 3:40 pm

    I love the look of this doll. I love the fact you can link it with a tablet to get more from it. It does sound disappointing that she doesn’t always understand what she is being asked though :/

  • Ruth Davies October 24, 2014 at 6:15 pm

    It amazes me how things change so fast the thought that it now hooks up to tablet! My little girl would also love to have this

  • julie perry October 25, 2014 at 2:50 pm

    What a fabulous doll…love the way she combines fun with learning…Jorgie would love her 🙂

  • Shelley Jessup October 25, 2014 at 10:01 pm

    I know Sophie would be in her element with Cayla! Such a clever doll!

  • Robyn Logan Clarke October 25, 2014 at 10:38 pm

    So jealous! Wish we had dolls like this when we were kids.

  • kim neville October 26, 2014 at 9:47 am

    Lovely doll and clever at what she can do

  • Rebecca Taylor October 27, 2014 at 12:30 pm

    Very clever, would make a great gift for any little girl (or boy!)

  • Tracey Thompson October 28, 2014 at 5:29 pm

    what a great idea and educational too

  • claire sen October 28, 2014 at 7:38 pm

    I can’t believe how much dolls have changed since I was little! (that makes me feel old but its so true)

  • shell_shoez27 October 28, 2014 at 10:30 pm

    I Have to be honest normally with dolls I find them very scary but this one is wonderful its not stick thin and looks great!

  • Wendy Jones October 28, 2014 at 11:53 pm

    Any little girl would love this doll and maybe a few moms too! (and nan’s)

  • pm liu October 29, 2014 at 9:31 am

    nice looking doll, doesn’t look creepy like all the other baby dolls, my little one would love this

  • Judith Luscombe October 29, 2014 at 11:05 am

    I would have loved Cayla when I was a little girl and Im sure my little granddaughter would love her now

  • Rishona Taylor October 29, 2014 at 8:51 pm

    I can imagine the frustration of not being replied to, so yes the RRP does seem a little steep. It’s great to see the internet safety in there though, but linking up to the app is always a pain, especially when it means the kids steal the tablet for ages! lol

  • Jackie Chapman October 29, 2014 at 9:01 pm

    I wish they’d had dolls like this when I was a little girl

  • olivia Kirby October 29, 2014 at 9:48 pm

    Melody has expressed an interest in this doll, I think it;s a little pricey so not sure she’ll be getting it!

  • denise farminer October 29, 2014 at 10:56 pm

    these dolls sound amazing. i think its great tool to encourage children to get back to basics and enoy playing make believe with a special friend.also encouraging speech in shy children.

  • jessica newman October 30, 2014 at 9:46 am

    i kow a little girl who would love her

  • Fleur October 30, 2014 at 11:39 am

    So much more than a doll I want to play with her too !

  • Catherine Bell October 30, 2014 at 1:49 pm

    This looks great, my neice would love it.

  • Rebecca Morgan October 30, 2014 at 8:39 pm

    My daughter would absolutely fall in love with her! I’m amazed what dolls can do now! Back when I was little, they had just started to cry and wee lol!

  • lp99287 October 30, 2014 at 9:57 pm

    She looks brill, I want one x

  • Melanie October 30, 2014 at 10:28 pm

    Excellent review. I would love one for my little god daughter.

  • Karl Borowy October 31, 2014 at 12:05 am

    its an amazing dolly

  • Natalie Crossan October 31, 2014 at 1:16 am

    She looks wonderful, exactly the kind of toy my daughter loves 🙂 xx

  • alice lightning October 31, 2014 at 2:01 am

    this doll looks amazing any little girl would love this

  • Vicky Robinson October 31, 2014 at 2:35 pm

    This is fabulous! I’m sure my daughters would find her amazing! If only we had had dolls like this when I was small!

  • LEE HARDY October 31, 2014 at 5:29 pm

    My daughter would love.

  • teresa sheldon October 31, 2014 at 9:05 pm

    A great review ver y honest and detailed a little girls perfect companion and educational keeping us parents happy too, thanks

  • linda hobbis October 31, 2014 at 9:08 pm

    What a lovely present for a little girl. I still remember my Tiny Tears!

  • claire bingham October 31, 2014 at 11:19 pm

    After my daughter played with this at a friends she is now obsessed with having one, is totally amazing

  • Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    Award-winning family lifestyle and top 10 UK parenting/mum blog. Join Boo Roo and Tigger Too sharing family life, home decor, travel and everything in between. Read More

    Subscribe & Follow

    Awards

    • Vuelio - Top 10 UK Mummy Blog 2019
    ×