The Secret Garden (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound edition) {Book Review}

January 7, 2016

The Secret Garden (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound edition) {Book Review}

January 7, 2016

And the secret garden
bloomed and bloomed
and every morning
revealed new miracles

The Secret Garden (Barnes & Noble cover)

Written by Frances Hodgson Burnett
Illustrated by Charles Robinson
Published by Barnes & Noble
ISBN 9781435158184

The Secret Garden

On the grounds of Misselthwaite, her Uncle Archibald’s estate near the Yorkshire moors, nine-year-old Mary Lennox finds a walled-in garden that has been locked securely for years. With the help of Dickon Sowerby, a young local boy who can charm animals, Mary cultivates the garden, an experiences that both improves her health and raises her spirits. Ultimately, the secret garden proves beneficial not only to Mary, but to her sickly cousin Colin. Nurtured with love and tenderness, the secret garden proves it has the power to heal the heart.

First published in 1911, Frances Hodgson Burnett’s The Secret Garden is a much-loved classic of children’s literature. This illustrated edition, with full-colour plates by Charles Robinson, features an elegant bonded-leather binding, a satin-ribbon bookmark, distinctive gilded edging, and decorative end papers. Decorative, durable, and collectible, it’s a book that will be cherished by readers of all ages.

The Secret GArden (Barnes & Noble edition) illustrations

Boo Roo and Tigger Too’s thoughts…

This leather-bound edition of The Secret Garden is a true keepsake book. Not only does it contain the classic story accompanied by some wonderful illustrations but it is beautifully presented with gold-edged pages and bookmark all encased in hardback, leather-bound cover than adds that sense of luxury and classic feel.

Having loved The Secret Garden story as a child I was very keen for Roo to read to see whether she also fell under the magical spell of the classic tale. Handing over the book to Roo she was so proud to be given a book that in her words was ‘a very grown up book which is just like your Jane Austen book‘. Over the Christmas period we have been taking it in turns to read several pages to each other so that we could enjoy the story together. As we moved through the book I could see Roo falling in love with the story especially when she would ask ‘can we read just one more page’ as we approached bedtime.

A beautifully present book containing a classic tale and one that would make a wonderful gift.

Price and availability

The Secret Garden (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound edition) is available from Amazon and all other good book retailers, priced at around Β£15.00.

Giveaway

To share the classic story of The Secret Garden Boo Roo and Tigger Too are lucky enough to have an additional copy of the book to giveaway.

The Secret Garden (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound edition) #Giveaway

To enter simply tell me what your favourite story was when you were a child, then complete the Gleam widget below:

The Secret Garden (Barnes & Noble Leatherbound edition)

Disclosure: We received a copy of The Secret Garden FOC for the purpose of review

MamaMummyMum

242 Comments

  • Samantha O'D January 7, 2016 at 2:18 pm

    A book of short stories called the Necklace of Raindrops

  • Rachel Bustin January 7, 2016 at 2:57 pm

    I loved The Wishing Chair by Enid Blyton xx

  • BECCA STAPLES January 7, 2016 at 3:31 pm

    I love the three billy goats gruff x

  • kim neville January 7, 2016 at 3:40 pm

    Mallory Towers by Enid Blyton

  • Alison Johnson January 7, 2016 at 6:36 pm

    The Happy Prince

  • John Tingay January 7, 2016 at 7:21 pm

    Watership Down was one of my favourites

  • Jackie ONeill January 7, 2016 at 7:23 pm

    The Magic Faraway Tree by Enid Blyton

  • Laura Broadley January 7, 2016 at 7:27 pm

    Mine would be a toss-up between Little Women and What Katy Did -I’d be hard pushed to pick just one of them!

  • Lisa Everaert January 7, 2016 at 7:28 pm

    Alice in Wonderland, i could read that endlessly as a child.

  • Marycarol January 7, 2016 at 7:37 pm

    Loved the Secret Island by Enid Blyton

  • Anna January 7, 2016 at 7:43 pm

    Tarka The Otter

  • melanie stirling January 7, 2016 at 7:45 pm

    The Secret garden was one of my favourites but also Watership Down.

  • Suzanne January 7, 2016 at 7:48 pm

    I loved Alice in Wonderland and The Secret Garden.

  • Clare H January 7, 2016 at 7:51 pm

    the famous five books

  • amy bondoc January 7, 2016 at 8:06 pm

    I Loved reading enid blyton books i couldnt say which was my favourite though !

  • laura banks January 7, 2016 at 8:24 pm

    it was a book my mum used to read called mervyn the mouse

  • Claire Tucker January 7, 2016 at 8:29 pm

    Pippy long stocking

  • fozia Akhtar January 7, 2016 at 8:31 pm

    Matilda by Roald Dahl

  • Danika Lloyd January 7, 2016 at 8:36 pm

    Enid Blyton’s Famous Five & Secret Seven

  • leanne weir January 7, 2016 at 8:59 pm

    i loved mr pinkwhistle

  • Samantha loughlin January 7, 2016 at 9:03 pm

    The lion witch and the wardrobe

  • Ashleigh Allan January 7, 2016 at 9:35 pm

    Famous five or secret seven – in fact most enid blyton books!

  • Paul Martin January 7, 2016 at 9:37 pm

    danger mouse anuals

  • Annette Oliver January 7, 2016 at 9:40 pm

    Charlie and the chocolate factory

  • Victoria N January 7, 2016 at 9:50 pm

    Enid Blyton, the Far Away Tree

  • Kristy Brown January 7, 2016 at 11:12 pm

    This was one of my fav – along with the Worst Witch Series, Secret Seven and Famous Five

  • Claire Elizabeth Noke January 7, 2016 at 11:54 pm

    when I was very young it was “wind in the willows” then as an older child I loved “The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe”

  • Rich Tyler January 7, 2016 at 11:59 pm

    Always Love The Meg & Mog Story Books πŸ™‚

  • sarah January 8, 2016 at 12:16 am

    scruffy dog pete

  • felicity smith January 8, 2016 at 1:05 am

    would have to be the very hungry caterpillar

  • Karis January 8, 2016 at 2:44 am

    Georges Marvellous Medicine

  • Samantha loughlin January 8, 2016 at 3:06 am

    The railway children

  • Samir Lola January 8, 2016 at 5:59 am

    Charlie and the chocolate factory

  • Emily Knight January 8, 2016 at 8:44 am

    I loved the Joan Aiken books – The Wolves of Willoughby Chase was one of my favourites!

  • Rhiannon Alwen January 8, 2016 at 9:08 am

    I’d read the Narnia books over and over again. Particularly Prince Caspian.

  • helen tovell January 8, 2016 at 9:44 am

    The worst witch series

  • HELEN GOSSAGE January 8, 2016 at 9:58 am

    The Magician’s Nephew

  • iain maciver January 8, 2016 at 9:59 am

    famous five or secret seven

  • Steve Weaver January 8, 2016 at 10:16 am

    I always remember The Voyage of the Dawn Treader’ by C. S. Lewis as being the first ‘proper’ book I read on my own as a young child

  • Eliz M January 8, 2016 at 10:24 am

    Mine was Madeline – All those little girls doing everything in 2 straight lines!”

  • Paula Barker January 8, 2016 at 10:28 am

    Ballet shoes by Noel Steatfield

  • Phyllis Ellett January 8, 2016 at 10:52 am

    Five Go Down To The Sea, by Enid Blyton was my favourite.

  • Michaela Smith January 8, 2016 at 10:53 am

    The Wind in the Willows

  • Lisa Pond January 8, 2016 at 11:53 am

    Stuart Little was my favourite πŸ™‚

  • Keith Hunt January 8, 2016 at 12:43 pm

    Five Go to Mystery Moor

  • Jennifer Bruce January 8, 2016 at 1:01 pm

    Five minutes peace! The elephant mummy who just wants five minutes peace! This is now me!

  • joanna butler-savage January 8, 2016 at 1:14 pm

    the CS lewis books

  • Alice Dixon January 8, 2016 at 1:43 pm

    The lion the witch and the wardrobe x

  • David Mitchell January 8, 2016 at 1:49 pm

    herman melville’s moby dick

  • hazel haskayne January 8, 2016 at 3:04 pm

    Black Beauty was my favourite

  • Kathleen Lynch January 8, 2016 at 3:12 pm

    My favourite book was The Secret Garden. I read it many times as a child.

  • Hassni January 8, 2016 at 3:23 pm

    Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.

  • sharon martin January 8, 2016 at 3:39 pm

    The Velveteen Rabbit

  • laura stewart January 8, 2016 at 4:04 pm

    i liked the brambly hedge books xx

  • Mike Hodgson January 8, 2016 at 4:43 pm

    Not Now Bernard!

  • Andrea Fletcher January 8, 2016 at 5:25 pm

    The famous five books.

  • Hugh Mackenzie January 8, 2016 at 6:33 pm

    The Twits by Roald Dahl

  • Susan Smith January 8, 2016 at 7:06 pm

    Peter Pan, used to love the book, my nan brought it for me

  • Sarah Spencer January 8, 2016 at 7:47 pm

    Three Billy Goats Gruff – Peter Christen AsbjΓΈrnsen and JΓΈrgen Moe

  • Julie Ward January 8, 2016 at 8:04 pm

    The ugly duckling

  • Stacey Carnell January 8, 2016 at 8:26 pm

    Goldilocks and the three bears <3

  • Meena January 8, 2016 at 9:46 pm

    The Magic Faraway Tree by Enid Blyton – fabulous!

  • Sam Goodwin January 8, 2016 at 11:00 pm

    Charlie and the chocolate factoty

  • sofia s. January 8, 2016 at 11:09 pm

    My favourite story was the 3 little pigs…I was just in love with these cute animals!

  • michelle smith January 8, 2016 at 11:15 pm

    The Lion The Witch and the wardrobe

  • Natalie Charman January 9, 2016 at 12:18 am

    I loved the secret even books.

  • Sarah P January 9, 2016 at 1:00 am

    Alice in Wonderland!

  • Jessica Powell January 9, 2016 at 2:02 am

    The Famous Five πŸ™‚

  • Angela McDonald January 9, 2016 at 2:35 am

    My favourite book was The Magical Faraway Tree!

  • Lynn Heath January 9, 2016 at 7:56 am

    My favourite story was little red riding hood!

  • Tracy Gladman January 9, 2016 at 8:02 am

    I loved any of the Amelia Jane books.

  • Charlene P January 9, 2016 at 8:21 am

    My favourite book as a child was The Owl Who Was Afraid of the Dark.

  • Rachel Craig January 9, 2016 at 12:20 pm

    Goldilocks and the three bears.

  • Claire D January 9, 2016 at 2:04 pm

    The Magic Faraway Tree by Enid Blyton

  • Katie Skeoch January 9, 2016 at 2:31 pm

    I loved Carbonnel & the wishing chair

  • Nicola Glover January 9, 2016 at 2:32 pm

    The BFG – Roald Dahl

  • Penny Jenkins January 9, 2016 at 5:04 pm

    Charlotte’s Web!

  • Sarah Swainsbury January 9, 2016 at 5:48 pm

    Pinocchio. Ladybird book. My nan used to read it then have to re read it

  • stephen holman January 9, 2016 at 5:53 pm

    the BFG by roald dahl

  • Carol Emmett January 9, 2016 at 7:46 pm

    Tricky – the Narnia books, Anne of Green Gables series, Little Women series, The Secret Garden. But I think I’ll go for another Frances Hodgson Burnett – The Lost Prince.

  • Jo m Welsh January 9, 2016 at 8:10 pm

    The faraway tree

  • Colin Gault January 9, 2016 at 8:22 pm

    Lion the witch and the wardrobe

  • caroline kelly January 9, 2016 at 9:20 pm

    The faraway tree by Enid Blyton

  • rebecca nisbet January 9, 2016 at 9:20 pm

    it was a book my grandad use to read to us called Timothy and friends.

  • karen T January 9, 2016 at 9:40 pm

    I used to LOVE The Secret Garden and would read it over and over again!

  • elizabeth ferguson January 9, 2016 at 10:39 pm

    charlie and the chocolate factory was a firm favourite of mine xx

  • Sarah Christie January 9, 2016 at 10:43 pm

    Oh my, mine was the Secret Garden its the loveliest story and the thought of having a secret garden, it has always been a dream of mine. x

  • Susie Wilkinson January 9, 2016 at 11:42 pm

    I loved Enid Blyton’s The Magic Faraway Tree books, I’ve still got them!

  • kate kathurima January 9, 2016 at 11:57 pm

    don’t remember when I was really young but have memories of my mum and dad reading, but when I got older it was ‘A year without Micheal’ my sister a few years ago found it on Amazon and got it for me and I read it again

  • Sally Collingwood January 10, 2016 at 11:01 am

    The Treasure Hunters, Enid Blyton

  • sarah rees January 10, 2016 at 1:23 pm

    the twins at st clares

  • andrea tinkler January 10, 2016 at 3:52 pm

    the magic faraway tee. still have my copies xx

  • kaye talvilahti January 10, 2016 at 9:09 pm

    The faraway tree Enid Blyton

  • Samantha Fernley January 10, 2016 at 11:06 pm

    Always Alice in Wonderland, still is too.

  • Jodie Darnley January 11, 2016 at 10:14 am

    Boy by Roald Dahl

  • Jo Carroll January 11, 2016 at 10:42 am

    It was Alice in Wonderland because Lewis Carroll shared my surname and that made me feel really proud and I thought I was Alice. It wasn’t until I got older that I discovered the author used a pen name πŸ˜‰ Still love Alice thought. x

  • lauren h January 11, 2016 at 11:02 am

    The Lion,The Witch and The Wardrobe

  • nina kennedy January 11, 2016 at 3:06 pm

    The Faraway Tree

  • Corinne Peat January 11, 2016 at 9:08 pm

    I loved the lion the witch and the wardrobe

  • Charlotte Moore January 11, 2016 at 9:19 pm

    Winnie the pooh

  • Lisa Mauchline January 11, 2016 at 11:41 pm

    I loved the goosebumps books and still have them

  • Laura Nice January 11, 2016 at 11:45 pm

    The hungry caterpillar x

  • Angie Hoggett January 12, 2016 at 10:52 am

    I love the Wizard of Oz

  • Mickie Bull January 12, 2016 at 10:56 am

    Enid Blyton’s Magic Faraway Tree!

  • becci cleary January 12, 2016 at 11:09 am

    Enid Blyton’s Hurrah For The Circus.

  • carole n January 12, 2016 at 9:03 pm

    I loved readying the Borrowers tales.

  • Adventures of Adam January 13, 2016 at 7:38 am

    I loved The Little Princess.

  • Solange January 13, 2016 at 8:03 am

    Charlotte’s Web

  • charlotte qualter January 13, 2016 at 10:33 am

    my favourite was Alice in wonderland x.

  • jules Eeley January 13, 2016 at 11:44 am

    Matilda was my favourite πŸ™‚

  • Suzanne Gaulton January 13, 2016 at 1:20 pm

    Heidi – I love a story that makes me both cry and smile.

  • Jo Glasspool January 13, 2016 at 9:42 pm

    The animals of farthing wood.

  • Kim Harding January 13, 2016 at 11:53 pm

    Heidi……oh how I loved to live in the alps like her!

  • Laura F January 13, 2016 at 11:55 pm

    Mine was The Hobbit

  • chantelle hazelden January 14, 2016 at 7:01 am

    This was one of my favourite stories when I was younger! Such a gorgeous looking edition. Thanks for sharing with #ReadWithMe

  • Melanie Daniels January 14, 2016 at 12:36 pm

    I loved The Worst Witch!

  • Michelle Cooper January 14, 2016 at 5:21 pm

    Cinderella for me. Sooo wanted to wear a beautiful dress

  • Kelly L January 15, 2016 at 10:22 pm

    The lion the witch and the wardrobe!

  • Anne Plumb January 16, 2016 at 11:26 am

    The Silver Sword

  • Simon Harrington January 16, 2016 at 7:17 pm

    Charlie and The Chocolate Factory

  • Rachel Butterworth January 16, 2016 at 11:50 pm

    Mathilda by Roald Dahl.

  • Naomi M January 17, 2016 at 2:00 am

    I have always been a real bookworm, so there are so many I can’t choose! I loved this book and read it to my own children a couple of years ago, also loved What Katy Did, Heidi, Pollyanna and so many others. If pushed I would say I think, Anne of Avonlea by L M Montgomery and all the subsequent books in that series which I started reading pre teens (I still go back and read them now)…but then I am a fan of love and romance in all its many forms and all of these books have a very healthy dose of these things x

  • CAT CULMER January 17, 2016 at 3:32 pm

    Enid Blytons Faraway Tree

  • Claire Toplis January 17, 2016 at 4:03 pm

    The treasure seekers

  • Rhia January 17, 2016 at 6:57 pm

    I remember my parents reading The Wind in The Willows with me πŸ™‚

  • damian thomas ( January 17, 2016 at 7:50 pm

    I loved james and the giant peach

  • gareth drake January 17, 2016 at 7:53 pm

    i used to love stig of the dump

  • Victoria Gillings January 17, 2016 at 7:58 pm

    I loved black beauty

  • Diana January 17, 2016 at 9:40 pm

    Alice in Wonderland was my favourite πŸ™‚

  • Andy Heron January 18, 2016 at 2:23 pm

    I had a giant book full of loads of stories and my favourite was called “Androcles and the Lion”

  • zoe g January 18, 2016 at 3:18 pm

    I liked owl babies when i was little

  • cathyj January 18, 2016 at 4:42 pm

    any enid blyton

  • Jessica Hutton January 18, 2016 at 5:42 pm

    I loved Oliver Twist and the hobbit. My grandad read them to me xx

  • Barbara Handley January 18, 2016 at 6:48 pm

    I liked The Rockingdown Mystery by Enid Blyton.

  • Mandi January 18, 2016 at 11:06 pm

    I have never read this book, but it is definitely on a very long list of books I need to read #ToyTuesday

  • Helen Woodcock January 19, 2016 at 12:26 am

    The Faraway Tree

  • Chris Bell January 19, 2016 at 12:53 pm

    Over sea, Under stone by Susan Cooper….for me it summed up the magic and mystery of my childhood holidays to Cornwall and even though Cornwall will never be quite as rural or innocent as described in the book the magic of the place will always last with me….

  • Leanne Newsome January 19, 2016 at 2:11 pm

    My favourite was bfg

  • Spencer Broadley January 19, 2016 at 4:09 pm

    I was into Secret Seven by Enid Blyton – then Famous Five

  • Kirsty Woods January 19, 2016 at 7:44 pm

    My favorite story was Herbert the Hedgehog

  • Karen Lloyd January 19, 2016 at 8:05 pm

    I loved The Wishing Chair.

  • Nikki Hunter-Pike January 19, 2016 at 8:29 pm

    As a child my favourite story was the prime minsiters brain – which was the sequel to the demon headmaster!

  • Laura Loo January 19, 2016 at 9:27 pm

    My favourite story was always Heidi

  • Laura Britton January 20, 2016 at 7:37 am

    Moo baa la la la! A favourite with my daughter now!

  • hayley cooper January 20, 2016 at 11:52 am

    the secret seven!!

  • Helen W January 20, 2016 at 1:12 pm

    The magic porridge pot

  • Rebecca Howells January 20, 2016 at 1:38 pm

    I loved several – Noddy books, Roald Dahl Books and another Enid Blyton series The Far Away Tree.

  • Laura H January 20, 2016 at 1:54 pm

    My favourite was and still is Alice In Wonderland.

  • Katherine Coldicott January 20, 2016 at 2:05 pm

    I loved Peter Pan & also the Borrowers.

  • MichelleD January 20, 2016 at 2:06 pm

    The BFG was my favourite!

  • Tim Millington January 20, 2016 at 5:20 pm

    Treasure Island was my favourite

  • EJ Dunn January 20, 2016 at 7:05 pm

    I loved anything involving The Famous Five!

  • Jenny Jones January 20, 2016 at 7:08 pm

    My Lord of the Rings Trilogy and the Hobbit by Tolken, I still have these books that I read as a teenager and they are some of my most tresured items

  • Lisa Conn January 20, 2016 at 7:34 pm

    I loved the Railway Children

  • Karen Howden January 20, 2016 at 10:42 pm

    I used to love the enid blyton famous five books

  • Rahela January 21, 2016 at 12:05 am

    I loved ‘A Little Princess’

  • JUDY PARSLOW January 21, 2016 at 6:32 am

    my family and other animals gerald durrell

  • Jade Hewlett January 21, 2016 at 7:44 am

    I liked Matilda

  • Robyn Logan Clarke January 21, 2016 at 9:20 am

    The magic faraway tree by Enid Blyton

  • lynn neal January 21, 2016 at 10:08 am

    The Railway Children

  • leighanne palfrey January 21, 2016 at 10:41 am

    charlie and the chocolate factory was my absolute favourite πŸ™‚

  • Emilia nastaly-howard January 21, 2016 at 11:02 am

    Mine was “Alice in wonderland” πŸ™‚

  • Marie McDonald January 21, 2016 at 11:46 am

    The Famous Five and the Naughtiest Girl in School

  • katie parsons January 21, 2016 at 12:40 pm

    What a beautiful book, I loved this book as a child and cant wait to read it to my children. This keepsake would be a perfect family heirloom πŸ™‚

  • Stacey Holmes January 21, 2016 at 12:40 pm

    Heidi was my absolute favourite book, it still is! xx

  • Kelly Hooper January 21, 2016 at 1:20 pm

    Georges Marvellous Medicine

  • Saran Benjamin January 21, 2016 at 1:28 pm

    I quite liked The Secret Seven books by Enid Blyton

  • mike proffitt January 21, 2016 at 1:44 pm

    I loved the Christopher Robin book I had

  • Gemma Cook January 21, 2016 at 2:10 pm

    I loved the Railway Children and now so does our little girl x

  • Emma Davies January 21, 2016 at 2:48 pm

    Enid Blyton’s The Magic Faraway Tree

  • Emily Hutchinson January 21, 2016 at 3:31 pm

    The Children of Green Knowe

  • Kim Styles January 21, 2016 at 3:34 pm

    I did love the Secret Garden the most out of all books .I wanted to be be just like dicken and be able to talk to wild animals

  • laura avery January 21, 2016 at 4:04 pm

    Stig of the dump was my fav! Thanks for the chance x

  • Kerry Crowe January 21, 2016 at 5:15 pm

    I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith

  • Sue Dorking January 21, 2016 at 5:18 pm

    Loved the Chalet School Stories by Elinor M. Brent-Dyer

  • Jenny Rogers January 21, 2016 at 5:33 pm

    The Hobbit – still my favourite now.

  • DENISE WILDEN January 21, 2016 at 5:40 pm

    I loved Enid Blyton Malory Towers books

  • katrina adams January 21, 2016 at 6:57 pm

    My favourite book as a child was the Alice in Wonderland. I loved the idea of falling down the rabbit hole and always used to pretend I had the little vials for Drink Me and little snacks for Eat Me – I was always disappointed when they didn’t have any effect. I was nicknamed Cheshire Cat for my great big smile but I think I would have done better at the Mad Hatter’s tea party!

  • Sarah Parker January 21, 2016 at 7:04 pm

    tom’s midnight garden πŸ™‚

  • Sheri Darby January 21, 2016 at 7:16 pm

    Winnie The Pooh

  • Alison January 21, 2016 at 7:24 pm

    Where the wild things are and when I was bigger swallows and amazons

  • Chris Fletcher January 21, 2016 at 7:28 pm

    I always loved Treasure Island!

  • Natalie Gillham January 21, 2016 at 7:30 pm

    My favourite childhood story was ‘The Faraway Tree’ by Enid Blyton

  • Hannah - smeethsaysfashion January 21, 2016 at 7:33 pm

    Funnily enough it was actually this one, I loved the film too and would watch it repeatedly.

    We had a big garden with a gate through to our neighbours that was always locked and I would imagine it was like the secret garden in the book.

    I would absolutely love to win this!

    Hannah

  • Rebecca Powell January 21, 2016 at 8:00 pm

    I loved The Hobbit

  • Kerry Kilmister January 21, 2016 at 8:17 pm

    I loved reading Little Women as a child. Tbh I still do now

  • Anna January 21, 2016 at 8:22 pm

    I loved the Narnia books

  • Helen Gilbert January 21, 2016 at 8:54 pm

    Enid Blyton…her stories were magical and The Faraway Tree series was my absolute favourite

  • ellie spider January 21, 2016 at 9:05 pm

    I didnt have a favourite single story but I did love Enid Blyton and all the school books – starting with the naughtiest girl in the school and moving on to The Twins at St Clares and mallory Towers – I always wanted to go to boarding school it sounded much more fun than myschool!

  • angela sandhu January 21, 2016 at 9:08 pm

    Any Enid Blyton books

  • Patricia Avery January 21, 2016 at 9:24 pm

    I loved the Noddy stories. We lived with Grandma in the early 1950s and she taught me to read before I started school using books she bought at a jumble sale. She was responsible for giving me a lifelong passion for books and reading. Back then we couldn’t afford new books. Now I have my own library and cannot bear to part with any of my wonderful books πŸ™‚

  • steph lovatt January 21, 2016 at 9:46 pm

    I loved the puddle lane books

  • Victoria Middleton January 21, 2016 at 10:16 pm

    The Little Matchgirl

  • Emma McCluskey January 21, 2016 at 10:21 pm

    A a young child, Noddy. As an older child, Mallory Towers. Yeah I had a thing about Enid Blyton.

  • claire little January 21, 2016 at 10:30 pm

    the secret garden

  • Victoria B January 21, 2016 at 10:31 pm

    Carrie’s War

  • simon hardy January 21, 2016 at 10:31 pm

    Georges Marvellous Medicine

  • Dale Dow January 21, 2016 at 10:38 pm

    The magic faraway tree x

  • Debbie Preston January 21, 2016 at 11:04 pm

    The Magic Faraway Tree

  • Lana George January 22, 2016 at 12:42 am

    Charlie and the Chocolate factory – still love it now much to my partners amusement and I’m 46!

  • Lynsey Buchanan January 22, 2016 at 3:20 am

    I loved The Magic Faraway Tree Books

  • Leanne Hansell January 22, 2016 at 6:10 am

    My favourite was ‘The Faraway Tree’ by Enid Blyton

  • Jill Fairbanks January 22, 2016 at 6:49 am

    The famous five books

  • betony bennett January 22, 2016 at 8:24 am

    Stig of the Dump πŸ™‚

  • Andrew Hindley January 22, 2016 at 9:21 am

    The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe by CS Caroll

  • Karen Laing January 22, 2016 at 9:50 am

    I loved Rumplestilstskin,this was over fifty years ago and there wasn’t the same choice as there is now.I love reading to my grandchildren and there are so many books to choose from,we love the Grufallo.I’d love to win this as a special addition to our bookcase,this was actually my daughters favourite story and I’d love to see if my grand-daughter loves it too x

  • stephanie whitehurst January 22, 2016 at 10:02 am

    I loved treasure island and the skelinton (in the dark dark woods)

  • karen watt January 22, 2016 at 10:22 am

    Love the Lion Witch And the Waldrobe

  • alicia piles January 22, 2016 at 10:25 am

    enid blytons famous five series

  • Lucy Carter January 22, 2016 at 10:35 am

    My favourite was The Magic Faraway Tree

  • Tricia Cowell January 22, 2016 at 10:50 am

    I loved Enid Blyton, especially the Wishing Chair

  • Toni January 22, 2016 at 11:42 am

    The magic faraway tree by Enid Blyton always brought excitement into my bedtime story

  • Wendy Guy January 22, 2016 at 1:20 pm

    Alice in Wonderland was always my favourite.

  • Cheryl January 22, 2016 at 1:22 pm

    Alice in Wonderland

  • George Williamson January 22, 2016 at 1:25 pm

    Fabulous. Treasure Island

  • Peter Schofield January 22, 2016 at 1:36 pm

    The Nightwatchmen by Helen Cresswell. It is a bit spooky.

  • Karen Dixon January 22, 2016 at 2:23 pm

    Alice in wonderland

  • Maria Jane Knight January 22, 2016 at 2:30 pm

    James & The Giant Peach – it was captivated by its magic.

  • fiona butler January 22, 2016 at 2:33 pm

    When I was younger, I used to like reading all sorts of books, but strangely enough, the secret garden really was one of my favourite stories, along with the railway children.

  • Sarah Saunders January 22, 2016 at 2:36 pm

    Famous Five – Five Run Away Together. xx

  • Catriona Hutchinson January 22, 2016 at 5:56 pm

    The Velveteen rabbit, and it still makes me cry to this day!

  • amanda noble January 22, 2016 at 5:56 pm

    The water babies

  • Emma January 22, 2016 at 7:03 pm

    The famous five books

  • Frances Darvill January 22, 2016 at 7:34 pm

    The Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder were my favourites and still are.

  • stacey kavanah January 22, 2016 at 7:54 pm

    The Wishing Chair – Enid Blyton

  • Joanna Sawka January 22, 2016 at 8:10 pm

    The Ugly Duckling

  • Daniel king January 22, 2016 at 8:48 pm

    Mine was the magic faraway tree πŸ™‚

  • Matt Brasier January 22, 2016 at 8:51 pm

    enid blytons famous five series

  • Louise Smith January 22, 2016 at 9:39 pm

    It was the Secret Garden, its amazing & a classic

  • Dawn Hull January 22, 2016 at 9:48 pm

    My favourite was Matilda.

  • Maria Sullivan January 22, 2016 at 9:53 pm

    This is one of my favourite books from when I was a child.

  • Yvette D January 22, 2016 at 10:11 pm

    Mallory towers by Enid blyton

  • Ayse January 22, 2016 at 10:16 pm

    The narnia chronicles. Still love them now πŸ™‚

  • carole Hiscock January 22, 2016 at 10:44 pm

    I know it’s going back a bit, but I always loved “Heidi”

  • Melanie Burton January 22, 2016 at 10:50 pm

    Enid Blyton – The Faraway Tree

  • Jo McPherson January 22, 2016 at 10:53 pm

    I loved the Faraway Tree

  • Tammy Neal January 22, 2016 at 10:54 pm

    I love Heidi <3 xx

  • Suzanne Brown January 22, 2016 at 10:58 pm

    The Secret Garden was a great favourite, along with Enid Blyton’s Pip the Pixie and all of the Noddy books.

  • Joe Benson January 22, 2016 at 11:03 pm

    Harry Potter – and I still love it!

  • Laura Marshall January 22, 2016 at 11:25 pm

    My favourite books when I was younger were the Magic Faraway Tree stories by Enid Blyton!

  • Heather Crowe January 22, 2016 at 11:46 pm

    Mine was Esio Trot

  • Laura Vitty January 22, 2016 at 11:57 pm

    The Magic Faraway Tree by Enid Blyton

  • Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    Award-winning family lifestyle and top 10 UK parenting/mum blog. Join Boo Roo and Tigger Too sharing family life, home decor, travel and everything in between. Read More

    Subscribe & Follow

    Awards

    • Vuelio - Top 10 UK Mummy Blog 2019
    ×