Monster Trouble! {Book Review}

Night after night, neighbourhood monsters creep into Winifred Schnitzel’s room trying to scare her.  Some growl; some belch.  Some are slimy, some hairy.  Good thing Winifred thinks monsters are cute!
Still, all of the monster mayhem is keeping Winifred awake, and that simply won’t do.  But how will Winifred turn the tables and scare her monsters away?

Monster Trouble! {Book Review}

Written by Lane Fredrickson
Illustrated by Michael Robertson
Published by Sterling Children’s Books
ISBN: 9781454913450

Join Winifred who isn’t afraid of monsters however is plagued by monsters visiting her each night to attempt to scare her.  They keep her awake all night, night after night so she decides to try to get them to stop.

Boo Roo and Tigger Too’s thoughts…

I really loved how this was a story not about how a child is scared of monsters but one that thought that they were cute although they were keeping her awake at night  and just wanted a good nights sleep.  Tigger enjoyed listening to the attempts of sticky webs etc. to rid her room of monsters.  The ending made me giggle and Tigger agree with the monsters.

Price and Availability

Monster Trouble! is priced at Β£9.93 (hardback), available from Amazon and all other good book retailers.

Giveaway

To celebrate the recent release of Monster Trouble! Boo Roo and Tigger Too are lucky enough to have an additional copy to giveaway to one lucky reader.

Monster Trouble! #Giveaway

To enter simply tell me what you would do to try and scare little Winifred, then complete the Gleam widget below:

Monster Trouble! by Lane Fredrickson

Disclosure: We received a copy of Monster Trouble! FOC for the purpose of review.

MamaMummyMum

Follow:
Share:

91 Comments

  1. BECCA STAPLES
    November 16, 2015 / 9:08 am

    Jump on the bed in the night x

  2. Louise Gardener
    November 16, 2015 / 9:48 am

    Dangle a spider above her head

  3. ashleigh allan
    November 16, 2015 / 9:55 am

    Hide behind a door and jump out!

  4. abigail edkins
    November 16, 2015 / 1:47 pm

    well if she was like out lillie all I would have to do is tell her that santa is coing….for some reason lillie is terrified of him lol

  5. November 16, 2015 / 2:44 pm

    the front cover alone made me smile, wonderful looking illustrations!! thanks for sharing with #readwithme

  6. November 16, 2015 / 3:09 pm

    These are really cute monsters πŸ™‚

    #readwithme

  7. Laura Nice
    November 16, 2015 / 3:25 pm

    hide spiders in places all over the house!

  8. November 16, 2015 / 4:47 pm

    This sounds so cute! I’d have to try putting on a ghostly voice in the next room. πŸ™‚ #readwithme

  9. Jo Hutchinson
    November 16, 2015 / 4:52 pm

    I would hide behind the curtains and then leap out and yell boo.

  10. November 16, 2015 / 5:19 pm

    Hide and shout boo!

  11. November 16, 2015 / 9:42 pm

    This does sound like a fun book for children of the right age.

  12. Victoria Lovell
    November 16, 2015 / 10:02 pm

    Not put my make up on! That would scare her.

  13. caroline walliss
    November 17, 2015 / 6:01 am

    I would sneeze really loud.x

  14. Rebecca Williams
    November 17, 2015 / 8:55 am

    When all is quiet shout Boo πŸ™‚

  15. November 17, 2015 / 10:51 am

    Scary noises I think.

  16. Angela Paull
    November 17, 2015 / 11:11 am

    Show her a picture of me from back in the 80’s lol

  17. ALI THORPE
    November 17, 2015 / 12:06 pm

    Dress up in a sheet and make ghostly sounds at her.

  18. leanne weir
    November 17, 2015 / 12:20 pm

    i would sneak up and shout boo

  19. Jo m Welsh
    November 17, 2015 / 12:50 pm

    Hide and shout BOO

  20. Jo Glasspool
    November 17, 2015 / 12:54 pm

    Just scream all of a sudden.

  21. kim neville
    November 17, 2015 / 2:18 pm

    Dress up as a zombie and make a loud wailing noise

  22. laura banks
    November 17, 2015 / 7:44 pm

    jump out of a cupboard and shout boo

  23. November 17, 2015 / 9:19 pm

    Sing, that seems to work with my kids :/

  24. iain maciver
    November 18, 2015 / 11:27 am

    let out a big scream

  25. Joanne Hutchings
    November 18, 2015 / 11:57 am

    Put a giant fake spider on her bed!

  26. joanna butler-savage
    November 18, 2015 / 12:10 pm

    whoopee cushions everywhere

  27. Rachel Craig
    November 18, 2015 / 12:20 pm

    Put a toy spider in the pages of a book which she has been reading.

  28. ELAINE DALE
    November 18, 2015 / 12:21 pm

    creep un behind her and shout boo

  29. jules eley
    November 18, 2015 / 1:17 pm

    show her the news πŸ™ But on a happier point…. I would jump out of a cupboard

  30. NIKI CLIFTON
    November 18, 2015 / 1:36 pm

    slugs usually do the trick haha x

  31. November 18, 2015 / 2:38 pm

    what a cute story sounds fun! Great take on the monsters in your room story Lovely review #readwithme

  32. Samantha R
    November 18, 2015 / 5:37 pm

    Make the curtains move, my cat does this in my daughters room all the time and it never fails to scare her

  33. November 18, 2015 / 7:35 pm

    I’d hide behind the sofa and jump out at her!

  34. Henry Little
    November 18, 2015 / 9:49 pm

    put up a glow in the dark ghost mask!

  35. Kristy Brown
    November 18, 2015 / 11:58 pm

    I’d hide a snake under her pillow!

  36. Stevie
    November 19, 2015 / 6:47 am

    The dead thumb in a box trick.

  37. November 19, 2015 / 1:30 pm

    I would hide behind her bedroom door and when she walks through jump out and yell BOO really loudly.In saying that there is something about it that makes me feel guilty,Should I really try to scare a child ?.I think I’m reading too much into this now so I’ll stop here x

  38. laura stewart
    November 19, 2015 / 2:44 pm

    toy spider always good x

  39. Lisa Pond
    November 19, 2015 / 7:01 pm

    Hide sprouts around the house and tell her there goblin poos and that their watching!

  40. Andrea Fletcher
    November 19, 2015 / 7:39 pm

    Put a frog in her bed.

  41. Lara Latchem
    November 19, 2015 / 8:43 pm

    I would hide and make ghost noises

  42. Leila Benhamida
    November 21, 2015 / 4:27 pm

    Hide in her bed and jump out when she comes in

  43. Jonathan Mason
    November 21, 2015 / 4:53 pm

    Hide under her bed and make ghostly noises

  44. Susie Wilkinson
    November 22, 2015 / 4:12 pm

    I’d ask her to clean the bathroom, it scares my lot senseless!!

  45. Keri Jones
    November 23, 2015 / 2:16 pm

    I would hang rubber bats from her ceiling and put rubber spiders across her floor x

  46. Michelle O\'Neill
    November 23, 2015 / 6:20 pm

    plastic bugs in the bed

  47. Corinne Peat
    November 23, 2015 / 7:23 pm

    I would hide and jump out!

  48. Jo Carroll
    November 24, 2015 / 2:16 pm

    I would use a long branch to rat-a-tat-tat on her window πŸ˜‰

  49. Tammy Tudor
    November 25, 2015 / 12:07 am

    Dress up in a scary costume!

  50. Rachel Butterworth
    November 26, 2015 / 10:12 pm

    Threaten to never give her chocolate again.

  51. kay lou smith
    November 27, 2015 / 10:59 am

    Wear a scary mask πŸ™‚

  52. katie w
    November 27, 2015 / 12:48 pm

    jump out from a cupboard

  53. Sarah Rees
    November 27, 2015 / 1:23 pm

    Put a white blanket over my head and shout boo!

  54. November 27, 2015 / 1:27 pm

    Dress up as a scary monster and make scary noises!

  55. Niki Warburton
    November 27, 2015 / 1:50 pm

    I would jump out saying boo

  56. Helen Gossage
    November 27, 2015 / 2:53 pm

    Hide under the bed

  57. Ray Becker
    November 27, 2015 / 5:31 pm

    Take my mask off

  58. Cheryl Pearson
    November 27, 2015 / 10:52 pm

    I’d ROOOOAAARRRR!

  59. Lynsey Buchanan
    November 28, 2015 / 3:18 am

    Pretend i’m a witch

  60. Julie Ward
    November 28, 2015 / 4:43 pm

    Jump out from behind a door, I do it to grandson because he plays tricks on me

  61. jen morgan
    November 28, 2015 / 7:19 pm

    jump out on her and scream boo

  62. Felicity Kelly
    November 28, 2015 / 10:45 pm

    I would hide under her bed and jump out!

  63. Joanne Gibbons
    November 29, 2015 / 10:23 pm

    Put a spider in her bed! ( maybe a plastic one)

  64. Amy Rennocks
    December 1, 2015 / 1:41 pm

    Make her jump with a scary face!!!

  65. December 2, 2015 / 9:04 am

    Wait in the wardrobe until she opens the door and shout BOO

  66. December 2, 2015 / 12:52 pm

    jump out of the wardrobe and shout booooooo

  67. Jamie Gallant
    December 2, 2015 / 8:58 pm

    Spiders always work

  68. Diana
    December 3, 2015 / 8:15 am

    Would tell her that there is no more chocolate in the world!

  69. Donna W
    December 3, 2015 / 10:34 am

    Nothing! I think scaring kids is horrible!!

  70. Jade Hewlett
    December 3, 2015 / 7:30 pm

    I’d find a spider to scare her

  71. Barbara Handley
    December 3, 2015 / 7:39 pm

    Sing! My voice would frighten anyone.

  72. Helen Maddock
    December 3, 2015 / 7:55 pm

    dress up as a ghost and shout BOOOOO

  73. Sarah Mcknight
    December 3, 2015 / 8:19 pm

    Jump out from the curtains

  74. Rebecca Powell
    December 3, 2015 / 8:40 pm

    Jump out of a cupboard

  75. Sarah Parker
    December 3, 2015 / 8:51 pm

    jump out and say boo!

  76. Jill fairbank
    December 3, 2015 / 8:51 pm

    I Dress up and jump out

  77. Karen Howden
    December 3, 2015 / 11:29 pm

    I would jump out from behind a rock

  78. Charmian Filewood
    December 4, 2015 / 12:39 am

    Throw a spider at them lol

  79. Rich Tyler
    December 4, 2015 / 2:22 am

    Jump out from behind a door lol

  80. jamie millard
    December 4, 2015 / 2:47 am

    dress up as something gruesome.

  81. kelly morgan
    December 4, 2015 / 8:27 am

    I would jump out from around a corner

  82. Belinda Matthews
    December 4, 2015 / 9:41 am

    I would jump out and say BOO

  83. Emma
    December 4, 2015 / 6:10 pm

    Dress up as something scary and jump out on her

  84. Matt Brasier
    December 4, 2015 / 6:25 pm

    Hide and jump out at her!

  85. claire little
    December 4, 2015 / 7:19 pm

    Jump out on her and shout rawr

  86. Katie Skeoch
    December 4, 2015 / 7:56 pm

    I’d change the WiFi password

  87. LEE HARDY
    December 4, 2015 / 8:46 pm

    hide under her bed while she is asleep.

  88. Denielle Nicol
    December 4, 2015 / 8:54 pm

    Tell her Santa won’t visit!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.