Monster Trouble! {Book Review}

November 16, 2015

Night after night, neighbourhood monsters creep into Winifred Schnitzel’s room trying to scare her. Some growl; some belch. Some are slimy, some hairy. Good thing Winifred thinks monsters are cute!
Still, all of the monster mayhem is keeping Winifred awake, and that simply won’t do. But how will Winifred turn the tables and scare her monsters away?

Monster Trouble! {Book Review}

Written by Lane Fredrickson
Illustrated by Michael Robertson
Published by Sterling Children’s Books
ISBN: 9781454913450

Join Winifred who isn’t afraid of monsters however is plagued by monsters visiting her each night to attempt to scare her. They keep her awake all night, night after night so she decides to try to get them to stop.

Boo Roo and Tigger Too’s thoughts…

I really loved how this was a story not about how a child is scared of monsters but one that thought that they were cute although they were keeping her awake at night  and just wanted a good nights sleep. Tigger enjoyed listening to the attempts of sticky webs etc. to rid her room of monsters. The ending made me giggle and Tigger agree with the monsters.

Price and Availability

Monster Trouble! is priced at Β£9.93 (hardback), available from Amazon and all other good book retailers.

Giveaway

To celebrate the recent release of Monster Trouble! Boo Roo and Tigger Too are lucky enough to have an additional copy to giveaway to one lucky reader.

Monster Trouble! #Giveaway

To enter simply tell me what you would do to try and scare little Winifred, then complete the Gleam widget below:

Monster Trouble! by Lane Fredrickson

Disclosure: We received a copy of Monster Trouble! FOC for the purpose of review.

MamaMummyMum

91 Comments

  • BECCA STAPLES November 16, 2015 at 9:08 am

    Jump on the bed in the night x

  • Louise Gardener November 16, 2015 at 9:48 am

    Dangle a spider above her head

  • ashleigh allan November 16, 2015 at 9:55 am

    Hide behind a door and jump out!

  • abigail edkins November 16, 2015 at 1:47 pm

    well if she was like out lillie all I would have to do is tell her that santa is coing….for some reason lillie is terrified of him lol

  • chantelle hazelden November 16, 2015 at 2:44 pm

    the front cover alone made me smile, wonderful looking illustrations!! thanks for sharing with #readwithme

  • Catherine November 16, 2015 at 3:09 pm

    These are really cute monsters πŸ™‚

    #readwithme

  • Laura Nice November 16, 2015 at 3:25 pm

    hide spiders in places all over the house!

  • Jessica Powell November 16, 2015 at 4:47 pm

    This sounds so cute! I’d have to try putting on a ghostly voice in the next room. πŸ™‚ #readwithme

  • Jo Hutchinson November 16, 2015 at 4:52 pm

    I would hide behind the curtains and then leap out and yell boo.

  • gemgemmum November 16, 2015 at 5:19 pm

    Hide and shout boo!

  • Yet Another Blogging Mummy!!! November 16, 2015 at 8:29 pm

    Hide under the bed, then jump out

  • Mrs Tubbs November 16, 2015 at 9:42 pm

    This does sound like a fun book for children of the right age.

  • Victoria Lovell November 16, 2015 at 10:02 pm

    Not put my make up on! That would scare her.

  • caroline walliss November 17, 2015 at 6:01 am

    I would sneeze really loud.x

  • Rebecca Williams November 17, 2015 at 8:55 am

    When all is quiet shout Boo πŸ™‚

  • Erica Price November 17, 2015 at 10:51 am

    Scary noises I think.

  • Angela Paull November 17, 2015 at 11:11 am

    Show her a picture of me from back in the 80’s lol

  • ALI THORPE November 17, 2015 at 12:06 pm

    Dress up in a sheet and make ghostly sounds at her.

  • leanne weir November 17, 2015 at 12:20 pm

    i would sneak up and shout boo

  • Jo m Welsh November 17, 2015 at 12:50 pm

    Hide and shout BOO

  • Jo Glasspool November 17, 2015 at 12:54 pm

    Just scream all of a sudden.

  • kim neville November 17, 2015 at 2:18 pm

    Dress up as a zombie and make a loud wailing noise

  • laura banks November 17, 2015 at 7:44 pm

    jump out of a cupboard and shout boo

  • Corinne Henson November 17, 2015 at 9:19 pm

    Sing, that seems to work with my kids :/

  • iain maciver November 18, 2015 at 11:27 am

    let out a big scream

  • Joanne Hutchings November 18, 2015 at 11:57 am

    Put a giant fake spider on her bed!

  • joanna butler-savage November 18, 2015 at 12:10 pm

    whoopee cushions everywhere

  • Rachel Craig November 18, 2015 at 12:20 pm

    Put a toy spider in the pages of a book which she has been reading.

  • ELAINE DALE November 18, 2015 at 12:21 pm

    creep un behind her and shout boo

  • jules eley November 18, 2015 at 1:17 pm

    show her the news πŸ™ But on a happier point…. I would jump out of a cupboard

  • NIKI CLIFTON November 18, 2015 at 1:36 pm

    slugs usually do the trick haha x

  • tracey bowden November 18, 2015 at 2:38 pm

    what a cute story sounds fun! Great take on the monsters in your room story Lovely review #readwithme

  • Samantha R November 18, 2015 at 5:37 pm

    Make the curtains move, my cat does this in my daughters room all the time and it never fails to scare her

  • Anna November 18, 2015 at 7:35 pm

    I’d hide behind the sofa and jump out at her!

  • Henry Little November 18, 2015 at 9:49 pm

    put up a glow in the dark ghost mask!

  • Kristy Brown November 18, 2015 at 11:58 pm

    I’d hide a snake under her pillow!

  • Stevie November 19, 2015 at 6:47 am

    The dead thumb in a box trick.

  • Karen Laing November 19, 2015 at 1:30 pm

    I would hide behind her bedroom door and when she walks through jump out and yell BOO really loudly.In saying that there is something about it that makes me feel guilty,Should I really try to scare a child ?.I think I’m reading too much into this now so I’ll stop here x

  • laura stewart November 19, 2015 at 2:44 pm

    toy spider always good x

  • Lisa Pond November 19, 2015 at 7:01 pm

    Hide sprouts around the house and tell her there goblin poos and that their watching!

  • Andrea Fletcher November 19, 2015 at 7:39 pm

    Put a frog in her bed.

  • Lara Latchem November 19, 2015 at 8:43 pm

    I would hide and make ghost noises

  • Leila Benhamida November 21, 2015 at 4:27 pm

    Hide in her bed and jump out when she comes in

  • Jonathan Mason November 21, 2015 at 4:53 pm

    Hide under her bed and make ghostly noises

  • Susie Wilkinson November 22, 2015 at 4:12 pm

    I’d ask her to clean the bathroom, it scares my lot senseless!!

  • Keri Jones November 23, 2015 at 2:16 pm

    I would hang rubber bats from her ceiling and put rubber spiders across her floor x

  • Michelle O\'Neill November 23, 2015 at 6:20 pm

    plastic bugs in the bed

  • Corinne Peat November 23, 2015 at 7:23 pm

    I would hide and jump out!

  • Jo Carroll November 24, 2015 at 2:16 pm

    I would use a long branch to rat-a-tat-tat on her window πŸ˜‰

  • Tammy Tudor November 25, 2015 at 12:07 am

    Dress up in a scary costume!

  • Rachel Butterworth November 26, 2015 at 10:12 pm

    Threaten to never give her chocolate again.

  • kay lou smith November 27, 2015 at 10:59 am

    Wear a scary mask πŸ™‚

  • katie w November 27, 2015 at 12:48 pm

    jump out from a cupboard

  • Sarah Rees November 27, 2015 at 1:23 pm

    Put a white blanket over my head and shout boo!

  • Emily Knight November 27, 2015 at 1:27 pm

    Dress up as a scary monster and make scary noises!

  • Niki Warburton November 27, 2015 at 1:50 pm

    I would jump out saying boo

  • Helen Gossage November 27, 2015 at 2:53 pm

    Hide under the bed

  • Ray Becker November 27, 2015 at 5:31 pm

    Take my mask off

  • Cheryl Pearson November 27, 2015 at 10:52 pm

    I’d ROOOOAAARRRR!

  • Lynsey Buchanan November 28, 2015 at 3:18 am

    Pretend i’m a witch

  • Julie Ward November 28, 2015 at 4:43 pm

    Jump out from behind a door, I do it to grandson because he plays tricks on me

  • jen morgan November 28, 2015 at 7:19 pm

    jump out on her and scream boo

  • Felicity Kelly November 28, 2015 at 10:45 pm

    I would hide under her bed and jump out!

  • Joanne Gibbons November 29, 2015 at 10:23 pm

    Put a spider in her bed! ( maybe a plastic one)

  • Amy Rennocks December 1, 2015 at 1:41 pm

    Make her jump with a scary face!!!

  • Eileen Tingle December 2, 2015 at 9:04 am

    Wait in the wardrobe until she opens the door and shout BOO

  • Lyndsey December 2, 2015 at 12:52 pm

    jump out of the wardrobe and shout booooooo

  • Jamie Gallant December 2, 2015 at 8:58 pm

    Spiders always work

  • Diana December 3, 2015 at 8:15 am

    Would tell her that there is no more chocolate in the world!

  • Donna W December 3, 2015 at 10:34 am

    Nothing! I think scaring kids is horrible!!

  • Jade Hewlett December 3, 2015 at 7:30 pm

    I’d find a spider to scare her

  • Barbara Handley December 3, 2015 at 7:39 pm

    Sing! My voice would frighten anyone.

  • Helen Maddock December 3, 2015 at 7:55 pm

    dress up as a ghost and shout BOOOOO

  • Sarah Mcknight December 3, 2015 at 8:19 pm

    Jump out from the curtains

  • Rebecca Powell December 3, 2015 at 8:40 pm

    Jump out of a cupboard

  • Sarah Parker December 3, 2015 at 8:51 pm

    jump out and say boo!

  • Jill fairbank December 3, 2015 at 8:51 pm

    I Dress up and jump out

  • Karen Howden December 3, 2015 at 11:29 pm

    I would jump out from behind a rock

  • Robyn Logan Clarke December 4, 2015 at 12:00 am

    Jump out from under the bed

  • Charmian Filewood December 4, 2015 at 12:39 am

    Throw a spider at them lol

  • Rich Tyler December 4, 2015 at 2:22 am

    Jump out from behind a door lol

  • jamie millard December 4, 2015 at 2:47 am

    dress up as something gruesome.

  • kelly morgan December 4, 2015 at 8:27 am

    I would jump out from around a corner

  • Rebecca Howells December 4, 2015 at 8:45 am

    Hide and jump out at her!

  • Belinda Matthews December 4, 2015 at 9:41 am

    I would jump out and say BOO

  • Emma December 4, 2015 at 6:10 pm

    Dress up as something scary and jump out on her

  • Matt Brasier December 4, 2015 at 6:25 pm

    Hide and jump out at her!

  • claire little December 4, 2015 at 7:19 pm

    Jump out on her and shout rawr

  • Katie Skeoch December 4, 2015 at 7:56 pm

    I’d change the WiFi password

  • LEE HARDY December 4, 2015 at 8:46 pm

    hide under her bed while she is asleep.

  • Denielle Nicol December 4, 2015 at 8:54 pm

    Tell her Santa won’t visit!

  • Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    Award-winning family lifestyle and top 10 UK parenting/mum blog. Join Boo Roo and Tigger Too sharing family life, home decor, travel and everything in between. Read More

    Subscribe & Follow

    Awards

    • Vuelio - Top 10 UK Mummy Blog 2019
    ×