Mind Your Monsters by Catherine Bailey {Book Review}

October 27, 2015

Mind Your Monsters by Catherine Bailey {Book Review}

October 27, 2015

 One day monsters invade Wally’s small town and chaos ensues!
Vampires scare kids at the park
Zombies knock over lampposts
Werewolves chase the mail carrier
These loud and clumsy monsters are certainly hard to ignore!

When nothing else seems to work, Wally decides he must do something. But can one young boy save the town?

Mind Your Monsters by Catherine Bailey

Follow the story of Wally a young boy in a small town whose life is turned upside down by the arrival of monsters. No matter how much he tried to ignore them, scare them, trick or treat them they wouldn’t go away – that was until he tried one last thing.

Mind Your Monsters - Will you please stop breaking our stuff

Boo Roo and Tigger Too’s thoughts…

Listening to the story Tigger happily pointed out all the different monsters as they appeared on the pages, he joined in with trying to get the monsters to go away. In the end Wally manages to get the monsters to listen to him and hopefully it is a moral that Tigger will make note of and use should he ever find monsters getting in his way.

Price and availability

Mind Your Monsters is available in hardback priced at £9.99 and is available from Amazon and all other good book retailers.

Giveaway

To celebrate the recent release of Mind Your Monsters by Catherine Bailey, Boo Roo and Tigger Too is lucky enough to have an additional copy of the book to giveaway.

To enter simply tell me how you would get monsters to leave your town, then complete the Gleam widget below:

Mind Your Monsters by Catherine Bailey

Disclosure: We received a copy of Mind Your Monsters FOC for the purpose of review.

145 Comments

  • ashleigh allan October 27, 2015 at 7:09 am

    i would chase them

  • kim neville October 27, 2015 at 7:30 am

    Would scare them off and make a loud noise they wont like

  • BECCA STAPLES October 27, 2015 at 8:39 am

    Set off load fireworks to scare them x

  • lynn HEATH October 27, 2015 at 2:42 pm

    I would set my kids on them after a day stuck indoors they would scare the life out of anyone!!!!

  • Jenna Parrington October 27, 2015 at 3:11 pm

    I would get my toddler to chase them away, he’s pretty scary!! Haha!

  • jules eley October 27, 2015 at 4:06 pm

    I would shout them out of town..ask my children i am pretty scary when i shout

  • joanna butler-savage October 27, 2015 at 4:13 pm

    scare them off with screaming

  • Winifred Davidson October 27, 2015 at 4:17 pm

    I would keep them as pets, I think they are lovely.

  • caroline walliss October 27, 2015 at 4:34 pm

    I would send my scary husband to chase them.x

  • Joanne Hutchings October 27, 2015 at 7:26 pm

    I’d take them to watch Norwich City play!

  • laura banks October 27, 2015 at 8:16 pm

    scare them with my singing

  • Samantha Loughlin October 27, 2015 at 9:34 pm

    I would set a fire water hose on them lol

  • boobler October 27, 2015 at 9:42 pm

    Ask my daughter to remove her socks

  • Stephanie Tsang October 27, 2015 at 9:54 pm

    Tickle them into submission

  • andrea tinkler October 27, 2015 at 10:39 pm

    I would sing. They would run a mile x

  • kim plant October 27, 2015 at 11:05 pm

    I would use my sons fart gun lol x

  • Lorraine Tinsley October 27, 2015 at 11:29 pm

    I’d get my daughter to bore them to death by talking to them!! 😉

  • Jessica Powell October 28, 2015 at 1:35 am

    We’d scare them off with a big sing-song!

  • Louise Gardener October 28, 2015 at 8:33 am

    I would tell them that the Gruffalo was coming to town.

  • laura stewart October 28, 2015 at 8:38 am

    i;d kindly ask them to leave 🙂

  • sarah rees October 28, 2015 at 8:58 am

    I would teach them to play nice so they could stay

  • Samantha R October 28, 2015 at 10:01 am

    Chase them, I will have to start training first though

  • jemma dwyer October 28, 2015 at 3:38 pm

    i’d fart all the time x

  • Sally Collingwood October 28, 2015 at 4:31 pm

    Lure them away with custard tarts!!

  • helen tovell October 28, 2015 at 5:11 pm

    show them my sons room and they will soon disappear thinking our planet is a smelly mess

  • Curtis Cleary October 28, 2015 at 8:41 pm

    Get out the old air rifle!

  • Rebecca Smith October 28, 2015 at 8:49 pm

    chase them away as far as i could

  • Robyn Logan Clarke October 29, 2015 at 8:38 am

    Bake the Worlds biggest chicken pie in the next town so they’ll move there when they smell it baking!

  • Jo Glasspool October 29, 2015 at 1:09 pm

    My daughter can be a bit of a banshee, I would get her to scream at them. That would work!

  • Claire Stewart October 29, 2015 at 4:11 pm

    Would scream at them

  • Anna October 29, 2015 at 7:20 pm

    I’d get my hubby to fart at them!!

  • Amy Tidd October 29, 2015 at 10:22 pm

    Get my children to chase them!

  • kate October 29, 2015 at 10:29 pm

    My son would put on spiderman costume and protect his twin sisters from the monsters.

  • leanne weir October 30, 2015 at 8:52 am

    i would get my hubby to talk to them – he can talk for britain

  • Victoria Davison October 30, 2015 at 10:23 am

    I would put some really yummy Monster-sweets in a deserted town so they went to live there instead!!!

  • Jo m Welsh October 30, 2015 at 12:48 pm

    I’d send my crazy daughter to them they wouldn’t hang around for long

  • Andrea Fletcher October 30, 2015 at 2:51 pm

    I would let our daft dog chase them.

  • jacqui rankine October 30, 2015 at 7:58 pm

    i WOULD LOVE TO HAVE THIS FOR MY SON.

  • Neha Parmar October 30, 2015 at 11:05 pm

    wear a witch costume and scare them off

  • Martina Pichova October 31, 2015 at 10:16 am

    I would give them stickers for good behaviour…

  • iain maciver October 31, 2015 at 12:33 pm

    let off a huge stink bomb

  • Victoria Lovell October 31, 2015 at 3:02 pm

    I would scare them in my halloween costume

  • Judith Allen October 31, 2015 at 3:21 pm

    When my daughter was little she had a few nightmares with a nasty monster, and came through to us sobbing. I told her to tell those monsters that mummy says to piss off. But to only say it to monsters because it’s very rude. I think that her laughing so much was what worked though, so I would maybe try reciting silly poems and jokes at them. Send them away giggling.

  • Julie Ward October 31, 2015 at 3:53 pm

    Get another monster (grandson) to scare him off

  • Mummy Fever October 31, 2015 at 4:37 pm

    Set the toddler on them

  • Ruth Harwood November 1, 2015 at 11:52 am

    We’d borrow Boris Johnson’s water cannon!!

  • Laura Pritchard November 1, 2015 at 2:45 pm

    My son’s farts would soon have them fleeing for the hills!

  • Corinne Peat November 1, 2015 at 8:14 pm

    I would get it to baby sit my four kids……I give it 10 minutes max before it runs.

  • Keri Jones November 1, 2015 at 8:27 pm

    We would make giant cupcakes and scare them away with sweetness 🙂 x

  • Angela McDonald November 2, 2015 at 5:25 am

    I’d fire them out of the town cannon!

  • Liam Bishop November 2, 2015 at 10:44 am

    Need to call in the Avengers to help!

  • chantelle hazelden November 2, 2015 at 10:48 am

    I think my eldest two would really enjoy this!! Thanks for sharing with #readwithme

  • Jade Hewlett November 2, 2015 at 1:12 pm

    Get family to chase them away

  • STACY SORRELL November 2, 2015 at 2:10 pm

    Bribe them with sweets, that tends to work with my little monster 🙂

  • Cassandra Mayers November 2, 2015 at 2:58 pm

    Offer them Monster Treats to leave!!!

  • aaron broad November 2, 2015 at 3:07 pm

    I would ask them nicely or scare them with toast

  • BookBairn November 2, 2015 at 3:09 pm

    This book sounds great! How would I get rid of the monsters? When there’s something strange in the neighbourhood, who you gonna call? … Ghostbusters!

  • Nat Jones November 2, 2015 at 3:12 pm

    Sounds like a fab one for when my little one is older!

  • Tanya Camilleri November 2, 2015 at 6:25 pm

    Create a HUGE monster from my craft supplies to scare them away 😉

  • Jennifer Toal November 2, 2015 at 7:03 pm

    Send them to Scotland to meet Nessi

  • Catherine November 2, 2015 at 8:48 pm

    I really love the cover of this book 🙂

    #readwithme

  • Natalie Crossan November 2, 2015 at 11:47 pm

    Send them to London to find the Queen 😛

  • Morgan Prince November 3, 2015 at 10:17 am

    LP would love this book, he loves anything to do with monsters or dragons!

    As for sending them away… I’d send them to Disney World, Orlando – there’s plenty of other characters for them to play with there! 😉

    #readwithme

  • Stevie November 3, 2015 at 10:24 am

    Invite the circus to the neighbouring town.

  • kay lou smith November 3, 2015 at 11:00 am

    Sing to them, that’s enough to scare anyone off!

  • Sam Goodwin November 3, 2015 at 12:00 pm

    Get the kids and the husband to all fart at the same time, the monsters would leave and never come back!!

  • Lisa Mack November 3, 2015 at 1:46 pm

    I would ask them nicely & find them somewhere new to live. Would love this book for storytime with my little girl, it’s our favourite time of the day & something we never miss. Thanks for the chance x

  • Claire Ward November 3, 2015 at 9:37 pm

    Chase them with bigger monsters

  • Jade Missy Evans November 3, 2015 at 11:57 pm

    I’d get my son to HULK SMASH them away!

  • Yet Another Blogging Mummy!!! November 4, 2015 at 2:56 am

    This looks a great book. I’d scare the monsters by playing the violin #readwithme

  • Laura Kevlin November 4, 2015 at 11:53 am

    I’d get my hubby to chase them away with his ‘Dad’ voice 🙂

  • betony Bennett November 4, 2015 at 2:01 pm

    I would set my 4 kids on them! They would be so exhausted they would have to leave for a sleep!

  • Linda McGarrigle November 4, 2015 at 8:01 pm

    I would make them live with my 5 year old for a week, they will never last! muwahahahaha!

  • kayleigh Bates November 4, 2015 at 8:30 pm

    Id send my daughter after them, shes terifying x

  • Solange November 5, 2015 at 3:52 am

    I’d get my other half to fart in their direction!

  • Grant R November 5, 2015 at 6:54 am

    I’d tell them that if they weren’t gone by the time I counted to three, they’d go on the naughty spot! It works on our little monsters! 😉

  • Jo McPherson November 5, 2015 at 10:08 pm

    We would chase them away

  • Christopher Read November 6, 2015 at 6:30 pm

    Bribe them with chocolate

  • Rachel Butterworth November 7, 2015 at 7:52 pm

    I would lure them away with chocolate.

  • Melanie Daniels November 7, 2015 at 8:41 pm

    I’d chase them out with monster spray!

  • Gemma Cook November 8, 2015 at 1:28 pm

    I just asked our little boy who said to tell the monsters the town was haunted and they like to spook monsters! x

  • Karen Laing November 8, 2015 at 5:47 pm

    I tell them that I would set my three dogs on them,the fact that they are probably the least frightening dogs in the world and would only lick them to death is neither here nor there x

  • Susie Wilkinson November 8, 2015 at 11:07 pm

    I think they would just leave of their own accord when they found out what my town is like now! It was a sleepy market town, but now in just this year there’s been 4 attempted murders and 3 actual murders. I think they’d just run for their lives!

  • Charlie Brunton November 9, 2015 at 6:39 pm

    I would let my cat chase them away, she can be a feisty little thing and would give them a bop on the nose!

  • Louise Whittaker November 9, 2015 at 9:05 pm

    I would tell them I am going to tell Daddy!

  • Monica Gilbert November 9, 2015 at 10:48 pm

    I’d let a group of young children out to play with them. They’d be so tired that they’d have to leave to sleep.

  • Rebecca Roberts November 10, 2015 at 7:54 am

    I’d set my two year old on them they would soon move on!!!

  • Cristin Williams November 10, 2015 at 10:24 am

    Tell them if they don’t leave soon daddy will be back and if he finds them here he won’t be happy

  • Eileen Tingle November 10, 2015 at 5:21 pm

    I’d spray them with a fire extinguisher

  • Rachel Craig November 10, 2015 at 6:33 pm

    I’d find someone to hypnotise then, then lead them out of town similar to the Pied Piper of Hamlyn story.

  • Leanne Newsome November 10, 2015 at 9:50 pm

    Chase them away

  • nicola james November 11, 2015 at 8:56 am

    my daughter would chase them out

  • Brenda Wilkes November 11, 2015 at 6:15 pm

    Send my two Bedlington Terriers after them. They would lick them so much they would flee at high speed!

  • Rebecca Howells November 11, 2015 at 8:23 pm

    Fight them with light sabers! (@PeanutHog)

  • Helen Porter November 11, 2015 at 8:25 pm

    ask them to leave nicely failing that run lol!

  • ellen sturman November 12, 2015 at 10:10 am

    i would dress up as a scarier monster to chase them away

  • MichelleD November 12, 2015 at 10:26 am

    My little girl would chase them away!

  • Laura Walker November 12, 2015 at 11:00 am

    My son could whip up a stink to make them leave!

  • Ray Becker November 12, 2015 at 12:27 pm

    Bribe em with sweets

  • paula walls November 12, 2015 at 1:05 pm

    I have a special room spray that gets rid of monsters. All monsters leave the town as soon as one little spray leaves the bottle.

  • Andrew Hindley November 12, 2015 at 1:33 pm

    I would chase them away

  • Simon G November 12, 2015 at 1:41 pm

    Put parking meters in, charge exorbitant fees on council car parks, employ lots of traffic wardens, put up business rates – that what many local councils do and it sure clears the town centre quickly !

  • Kerry Locke November 12, 2015 at 4:24 pm

    Buy them a Bus Ticket

  • Lynsey Spraggs November 12, 2015 at 6:39 pm

    I would turn off all the lights so it was so dark the
    Monsters would get scared and leave

  • Ella L November 12, 2015 at 6:53 pm

    Wave my magic wand and turn them into flowers

  • Tammy Tudor November 12, 2015 at 7:32 pm

    Writing them a song about leaving then singing it to them!

  • Rebecca Powell November 12, 2015 at 7:36 pm

    By firing bubble guns at them

  • Chris Fletcher November 12, 2015 at 8:00 pm

    I’d prove to be an even bigger monster and scare them off!

  • Nikki Hunter-Pike November 12, 2015 at 8:27 pm

    I’d call up Chuck Norris and he would roundhouse kick them out of town 😀

  • Jill fairbank November 12, 2015 at 9:17 pm

    Call for a cab

  • Angela Paull November 12, 2015 at 9:49 pm

    I’d lure them away with a trail of Haribo

  • Diana November 12, 2015 at 9:56 pm

    I would ask them nicely 🙂

  • Kristy Brown November 12, 2015 at 10:02 pm

    I would set the mother in law on them! One bite of her mac n cheese and they would run!

  • Holly Boyd November 12, 2015 at 10:16 pm

    give them a hug, if they are like my children they will run.

  • Sarah Robinson November 12, 2015 at 10:17 pm

    Use my big grumpy voice!

  • ellie spider November 12, 2015 at 11:18 pm

    I’d let the dog loose on them – when he farts people run for cover!

  • claire little November 12, 2015 at 11:30 pm

    tell them to leave!

  • Monika S November 12, 2015 at 11:37 pm

    I’d asked them politely to leave

  • Victoria Thurgood November 13, 2015 at 12:19 am

    Cook for them that would work

  • Erica Price November 13, 2015 at 7:23 am

    Stink them out

  • Hayley Todd November 13, 2015 at 7:46 am

    I would be nice first of all and ask them to leave, if they wouldn’t leave, then tougher action would be called for and we would have to use superpowers to make them vanish!

  • donna hale November 13, 2015 at 8:11 am

    scare them out with some scary and spooky noises

  • Cherry Newby November 13, 2015 at 8:14 am

    My 3yo suggested that we would call Paw Patrol – they seem to be able to solve any problems!

  • Lisa Pond November 13, 2015 at 9:09 am

    Dress up as Mr Blobby and annoy them til they left!

  • kelly morgan November 13, 2015 at 10:44 am

    shoo them away with a broom

  • Helen Langston November 13, 2015 at 10:45 am

    I’d send in the pied piper!

  • lisa baker November 13, 2015 at 10:51 am

    i would chase them

  • Emilia nastaly-howard November 13, 2015 at 11:11 am

    Make my other half sing for them…. I’m sure they would be out in a jiffy!!!! 😀

  • Kirsteen Mackay November 13, 2015 at 11:54 am

    I would scare the monster away by telling it that it could only stay if it did all my housework.

  • Kay Broomfield November 13, 2015 at 11:55 am

    I’d leave a cookie trail out of town for them to follow

  • Caroline Buckley November 13, 2015 at 12:14 pm

    Spray them with water

  • lorraine Evemy November 13, 2015 at 1:45 pm

    A really lovely prize for the little ones.This looks great xx

  • Lyndsey November 13, 2015 at 2:11 pm

    squirt them with a fire extinguisher

  • Denielle Nicol November 13, 2015 at 2:48 pm

    Set t cats on them!. Dxx

  • Katie Skeoch November 13, 2015 at 5:05 pm

    Play some Justin bieber. That would scars anyone away!

  • David Crabb November 13, 2015 at 5:36 pm

    I’d get monsters to leave town by boring them to death with my annoying love of trivial…did you know…

  • Jill Webb November 13, 2015 at 6:03 pm

    Spray them with my home made soup gets rid of every one ( family run a mile when its on offer )

  • Matt Brasier November 13, 2015 at 6:36 pm

    Call them a taxi!

  • angela edmonds November 13, 2015 at 7:53 pm

    i would set my grandson on them he loves chasing monsters

  • Rachel Clennell November 13, 2015 at 8:26 pm

    I would tell them they could only stay if they found a parking space for my car. Clearly this is an impossible task so they would HAVE to leave town. (Yes, I have had a bad day lol)

  • Amy Rowlands November 13, 2015 at 8:41 pm

    Scare them away with my little girls funny faces 😛

  • Victoria Prince November 13, 2015 at 8:45 pm

    I’d let the dogs sort them out – they’d get licked to death or scared off by the assault of affection!

  • Steven Beasley November 13, 2015 at 9:31 pm

    I would set my nephew and niece on them.

  • Leanne Rowlands November 13, 2015 at 10:27 pm

    Set my German Shepherd dog Ziggy on them 🙂 xx

  • pauline black November 13, 2015 at 10:44 pm

    I would cook for them! Mass extinction lol

  • Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    Award-winning family lifestyle and top 10 UK parenting/mum blog. Join Boo Roo and Tigger Too sharing family life, home decor, travel and everything in between. Read More

    Subscribe & Follow

    Awards

    • Vuelio - Top 10 UK Mummy Blog 2019
    ×