A Pirate’s Twelve Days of Christmas {Book Review}

November 23, 2015

A Pirate’s Twelve Days of Christmas {Book Review}

November 23, 2015

A Pirate’s Twelve Days of Christmas

On the first day of Christmas, a gift was sent to me… a parrot in a palm tree!

A Pirate's Twelve Days of Christmas {Book Review}

Written by Philip Yates
Illustrated by Sebastia Serra
Published by Sterling Children’s Books
ISBN: 9782454916826

This clever re-imagining of “The Twelve Days of Christmas” carol has a piratical twist filled with holiday excitement. A brave cabin boy receives mysterious gifts for each of the twelve days he is left alone to guard the pirate ship. Who is secretly delivering all of this buccaneer booty?

Shiver me timbers, matey, that’s up to you to find out!

A Pirate's Twelve Days of Christmas - 7 monkeys swingin'

Boo Roo and Tigger Too’s thoughts…

A pirate twist on the traditional twelve days of Christmas which is beautifully illustrated throughout. With each new day there is something new from the pirate world to be added to the rhyme, from Jolly Rogers, gold coins and singing mermaids.

Tigger really enjoyed this book, pirates always seem to capture little boys imaginations and he loved counting out the different things on each of the pages.

It was lovely to see that there was a pirate glossary included at the back of the book so that children could understand what the pirate words meant.

A Pirate's Twelve Days of Christmas - Pirate Glossary

Price and Availability

A Pirate’s Twelve Days of Christmas is priced at £4.62 (paperback) or £9.74 (hardback), available from Amazon and all other good book retailers.

Giveaway

To get you all in the Christmas spirit Boo Roo and Tigger Too are lucky enough to have an additional copy of A Pirate’s Twelve Days of Christmas to giveaway to one lucky reader.

A Pirate's Twelve Days of Christmas #Giveaway

To enter simply leave me a comment telling me what your pirate name would be, then complete the Gleam widget below:

A Pirate’s Twelve Days of Christmas by Philip Yates

Disclosure: We received a copy of A Pirate’s Twelve Days of Christmas FOC for the purpose of review

MamaMummyMum

116 Comments

  • Catherine November 23, 2015 at 7:51 am

    This sounds like a really fun twist on The Twelve Days of Christmas – great giveaway 🙂

  • Lucy Robinson November 23, 2015 at 7:53 am

    My pirate name would be Captain Swashbuckle. x

  • Cherry Newby November 23, 2015 at 8:15 am

    My pirate name would be Daisy ‘Softheart’ Drinkwater!

  • Leila Benhamida November 23, 2015 at 9:15 am

    It will be Lucinda

  • Claire Ridewood November 23, 2015 at 9:32 am

    We have a couple of pirate fans here who would LOVE this!

  • Laura Tonks November 23, 2015 at 9:35 am

    I’d be Captain Tuff guts 😀

  • chantelle hazelden November 23, 2015 at 10:27 am

    we are reviewing this book right now, I personally love it 🙂 thanks for sharing with #readwithme

  • Jo hutchinson November 23, 2015 at 10:30 am

    my pirate name would be Captain Laundry.

  • Gillian Mills November 23, 2015 at 10:30 am

    I’d be Captain Grace O’Malley 😉

  • Jo m Welsh November 23, 2015 at 11:26 am

    Captain cuddles would be my name

  • Keri Jones November 23, 2015 at 2:13 pm

    My pirate name would be Crafty Keri Shortlegs 🙂 x

  • kim neville November 23, 2015 at 3:21 pm

    I would call myself KrazyKim

  • melanie stirling November 23, 2015 at 4:26 pm

    Chilly Stirling,that’s how I feel at the moment!

  • Hester McQueen November 23, 2015 at 6:33 pm

    I would be Captain Now and my helper would be Pirate M’Gin – Love the books –

  • ashleigh allan November 23, 2015 at 7:33 pm

    i would be Captain Mumso

  • Claire Elizabeth Noke November 23, 2015 at 8:50 pm

    It would hav to be Captain LotsaIroning

  • Jessica Powell November 23, 2015 at 9:57 pm

    According to my OH it would be Captain Nag-a-Lot! #readwithme

  • Dawn mummyslittlepeeps November 24, 2015 at 7:16 am

    My son says his name would be captain jack jake moneybags

  • Louise Gardener November 24, 2015 at 7:33 am

    Mine would be Lucky Lou

  • Annegret November 24, 2015 at 7:38 am

    I would be Captain Curly!

  • iain maciver November 24, 2015 at 11:57 am

    I would be captain birdie

  • Sally Collingwood November 24, 2015 at 12:39 pm

    Captain Sally do dally!

  • Samantha R November 24, 2015 at 1:18 pm

    Swashbuckling Sam would be my pirate name

  • ELAINE DALE November 24, 2015 at 2:04 pm

    PEG LEG PEARL

  • Ms Suan Watts November 24, 2015 at 2:09 pm

    Captain Scarlet would be mine as my favourite colour is red

  • Michelle O\'Neill November 24, 2015 at 3:36 pm

    captain one whisker

  • Angela Fitzjohn November 24, 2015 at 4:02 pm

    My pirate name would be Captain Heartagold.

  • Lorraine Tinsley November 24, 2015 at 4:14 pm

    Captain Lola Martini

  • Iona Cornish November 24, 2015 at 4:21 pm

    My pirate name would be Captain Treasure

  • caroline walliss November 24, 2015 at 4:31 pm

    My pirate name would be Captain Walliss

  • tracey ryder November 24, 2015 at 5:40 pm

    my name would be captain loneryder

  • Winifred Davidson November 24, 2015 at 6:23 pm

    It has to be Captain HoHoHo

  • Claire Jones November 24, 2015 at 6:42 pm

    Every night my boys and I read stories together wrapped in a big quilt. This book would just be perfect, they would love it so much! Xxx

  • Rachel Craig November 24, 2015 at 7:30 pm

    My Pirate name would be :- Carter.

  • Hutch2 November 24, 2015 at 8:06 pm

    Captain Can’tcook

  • Corinne Henson November 24, 2015 at 8:16 pm

    Captain clean as I have mild ocd :/

  • Victoria N November 24, 2015 at 9:01 pm

    Captain cook a lot!

  • Clare H November 24, 2015 at 9:15 pm

    it would be captain mont

  • Karen hutchinson November 24, 2015 at 10:04 pm

    Captain Karen sparrow

  • Lynsey Buchanan November 24, 2015 at 10:06 pm

    My name would be Captain Lala-lynseypops

  • MANDY DOHERTY November 24, 2015 at 10:26 pm

    Captain Nutty Nanny x

  • Stephanie Tsang November 24, 2015 at 11:10 pm

    Mine would be Captain Cookalot

  • Joanne Hutchings November 25, 2015 at 8:52 am

    My pirate name would be Jolly Joey

  • laura stewart November 25, 2015 at 9:57 am

    i would be called Timmy!

  • Sharon Powell November 25, 2015 at 11:18 am

    Oh I love the look of this book! x #readwithme

  • leanne weir November 25, 2015 at 11:55 am

    pirate olly or dave

  • sarah rees November 25, 2015 at 5:20 pm

    Sarrrrrrrrrrrah
    a play on my name and the old pirates arrrrrrrrrrr

  • Cheryl Pearson November 25, 2015 at 9:51 pm

    Captain Chocolate Stealer

  • Sarah Brokenshire November 25, 2015 at 10:25 pm

    Captain yummy mummy! x

  • Jo Carroll November 26, 2015 at 1:39 pm

    Cap’n JoJo with the Pirate Mojo 😉

  • gillian burden November 26, 2015 at 11:29 pm

    my name would be captian fox

  • katie w November 27, 2015 at 12:50 pm

    One eyed Kitty

  • Sarah Rees November 27, 2015 at 1:19 pm

    My pirate name would be Swashbuckle Sarah. 🙂

  • jules eley November 27, 2015 at 1:23 pm

    Pirate MeanMumMakesUsBrushOurTeeth 🙂 Heheheheh

  • Tammy Westrup November 27, 2015 at 1:28 pm

    Tam the Terrific!

  • Niki Warburton November 27, 2015 at 1:53 pm

    Captain Krispy Kreme

  • leanne weir November 27, 2015 at 1:58 pm

    loose lips leanne x

  • Ray Becker November 27, 2015 at 5:29 pm

    Broken nose becker

  • Sarah mackay November 27, 2015 at 9:57 pm

    My pirate name would be Savvy sarah

  • shell November 28, 2015 at 11:24 am

    It would be Captain Ah-Hah

  • Julie Ward November 28, 2015 at 4:04 pm

    Captain control freak

  • Felicity Kelly November 28, 2015 at 10:57 pm

    Shiver me bloomers is a fitting pirate name!

  • Jo Glasspool November 29, 2015 at 12:27 am

    Legless Jo *hiccup* 😉

  • Tammy Tudor November 29, 2015 at 2:41 pm

    Captain Tammy the Terrible 🙂

  • Joanne Gibbons November 29, 2015 at 10:27 pm

    Long Jo shorty ( because I’m not that tall)

  • Phyllis May Ellett November 30, 2015 at 7:47 am

    I could be the great Figgity Phyll 🙂

  • olivia Kirby November 30, 2015 at 11:35 am

    Olivia the Irksome

  • Laura Corrall November 30, 2015 at 9:37 pm

    Captain Corrall Reef

  • emma speers November 30, 2015 at 11:29 pm

    Mine would be Emmarrrr the cleanerrrrr

  • Rachel Butterworth December 1, 2015 at 12:31 pm

    Red-Handed Rae would be my pirate name.

  • Amy Rennocks December 1, 2015 at 1:45 pm

    I would be called Captain Marshmallow

  • Tarbs Gill December 2, 2015 at 2:34 am

    Tar Bag Blacktoe

  • Eileen Tingle December 2, 2015 at 8:49 am

    My name would be Nutty Nana

  • Michelle Phillips December 2, 2015 at 11:49 am

    I’d be called Capitain Misharr

  • Vicki Violet Morris December 2, 2015 at 8:53 pm

    Cap’n Vicki Vicious

  • Jamie Gallant December 2, 2015 at 9:01 pm

    I would be Jim Lad

  • Neha Parmar December 3, 2015 at 5:09 am

    Shera(Tiger in Hindi)

  • Diana December 3, 2015 at 8:06 am

    My pirate name would be Dianeira!

  • dawn f December 3, 2015 at 8:55 am

    captain needs a snooze

  • Karen Louise wright December 3, 2015 at 11:18 am

    I would be crafty messy pirate x

  • Maria Jane Knight December 3, 2015 at 2:37 pm

    My name would be Captain Camerapants

  • Rebecca Howells December 3, 2015 at 4:45 pm

    Peanut the Pirate (@PeanutHog)

  • Barbara Handley December 3, 2015 at 7:17 pm

    I would have to be Barbarella due to my name.

  • Sarah Parker December 3, 2015 at 7:17 pm

    I could be called curly beard

  • Jade Hewlett December 3, 2015 at 7:32 pm

    Jolly Jade Pirate

  • Angela Paull December 3, 2015 at 7:43 pm

    I’ll be Aggro Ange yarrrr!

  • Kimberley Alex December 3, 2015 at 7:58 pm

    My name would be SilverHunter

  • Rebecca Powell December 3, 2015 at 8:18 pm

    The Jolly Lady!!

  • Sarah Mcknight December 3, 2015 at 9:34 pm

    Stinky socks Sarah

  • Karen Howden December 3, 2015 at 11:10 pm

    Pong Hon Wilber

  • Robyn Logan Clarke December 3, 2015 at 11:27 pm

    Captain o choc

  • Rebecca Phillips December 4, 2015 at 3:25 am

    Rapscallion Rebecca – gotta have a bit of alliteration!

  • kelly morgan December 4, 2015 at 6:55 am

    krafty Kelly the pirate

  • Kay December 4, 2015 at 7:11 am

    Okay so shoot me! (shoot as in camera!)

  • Nikki Hunter-Pike December 4, 2015 at 8:22 am

    Ginger Beard snake eyes

  • Kelly Summerfield December 4, 2015 at 8:24 am

    Captain Kelly Nobeard

  • Belinda Matthews December 4, 2015 at 9:05 am

    my pirate name would Bim Bo

  • Mandy S December 4, 2015 at 11:07 am

    Armanda – its got to have an ‘Arrr’ to be a pirate!

  • charlotte jones December 4, 2015 at 12:06 pm

    I’d be Captain Jellybean!

  • Heather Tinkler December 4, 2015 at 1:51 pm

    hazardous heather! I think thats a pretty good one

  • Nicola December 4, 2015 at 2:05 pm

    It would have to be Captain Mummy Pig (we are a Peppa Pig crazy family)!

  • Catherine Gregory December 4, 2015 at 4:34 pm

    Carbuncle Cat, oharrr me hearties

  • claire little December 4, 2015 at 5:45 pm

    Claire-aaarrrrrrrrr would be my pirate name

  • Emma December 4, 2015 at 6:02 pm

    Miserly Millie I think

  • Debbie Mackenzie December 4, 2015 at 7:44 pm

    Captain Dread Debzdo

  • Katie Skeoch December 4, 2015 at 7:54 pm

    Definitely captain katie the courageous!

  • Jill fairbank December 4, 2015 at 8:08 pm

    Jill the brave

  • samantha walker December 4, 2015 at 8:31 pm

    id be plain old captain walker

  • Denielle Nicol December 4, 2015 at 8:36 pm

    Denielle the dangerous

  • Rebecca Roberts December 4, 2015 at 9:10 pm

    One eyed joe

  • Em S December 4, 2015 at 9:29 pm

    Cap’n Jen Nastyscab

  • Dawn McBride December 4, 2015 at 10:01 pm

    Captain MoanAlot 😀 haha xx

  • Tammy Neal December 4, 2015 at 10:51 pm

    one eyed tricksy

  • Natalie Richardson December 4, 2015 at 11:15 pm

    Captain Nat the nasty!

  • SiwaBudda December 4, 2015 at 11:53 pm

    Cap’n Marie Cutthroat

  • Gemma Cook December 4, 2015 at 11:55 pm

    I would be Captain Gemby

  • Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    Award-winning family lifestyle and top 10 UK parenting/mum blog. Join Boo Roo and Tigger Too sharing family life, home decor, travel and everything in between. Read More

    Subscribe & Follow

    Awards

    • Vuelio - Top 10 UK Mummy Blog 2019
    ×