A Pirate’s Twelve Days of Christmas {Book Review}

A Pirate’s Twelve Days of Christmas

On the first day of Christmas, a gift was sent to me… a parrot in a palm tree!

A Pirate's Twelve Days of Christmas {Book Review}

Written by Philip Yates
Illustrated by Sebastia Serra
Published by Sterling Children’s Books
ISBN: 9782454916826

This clever re-imagining of “The Twelve Days of Christmas” carol has a piratical twist filled with holiday excitement.  A brave cabin boy receives mysterious gifts for each of the twelve days he is left alone to guard the pirate ship.  Who is secretly delivering all of this buccaneer booty?

Shiver me timbers, matey, that’s up to you to find out!

A Pirate's Twelve Days of Christmas - 7 monkeys swingin'

Boo Roo and Tigger Too’s thoughts…

A pirate twist on the traditional twelve days of Christmas which is beautifully illustrated throughout.  With each new day there is something new from the pirate world to be added to the rhyme, from Jolly Rogers, gold coins and singing mermaids.

Tigger really enjoyed this book, pirates always seem to capture little boys imaginations and he loved counting out the different things on each of the pages.

It was lovely to see that there was a pirate glossary included at the back of the book so that children could understand what the pirate words meant.

A Pirate's Twelve Days of Christmas - Pirate Glossary

Price and Availability

A Pirate’s Twelve Days of Christmas is priced at £4.62 (paperback) or £9.74 (hardback), available from Amazon and all other good book retailers.

Giveaway

To get you all in the Christmas spirit Boo Roo and Tigger Too are lucky enough to have an additional copy of A Pirate’s Twelve Days of Christmas to giveaway to one lucky reader.

A Pirate's Twelve Days of Christmas #Giveaway

To enter simply leave me a comment telling me what your pirate name would be, then complete the Gleam widget below:

A Pirate’s Twelve Days of Christmas by Philip Yates

Disclosure: We received a copy of A Pirate’s Twelve Days of Christmas FOC for the purpose of review

MamaMummyMum

Follow:
Share:

116 Comments

  1. November 23, 2015 / 7:51 am

    This sounds like a really fun twist on The Twelve Days of Christmas – great giveaway 🙂

  2. Lucy Robinson
    November 23, 2015 / 7:53 am

    My pirate name would be Captain Swashbuckle. x

  3. Cherry Newby
    November 23, 2015 / 8:15 am

    My pirate name would be Daisy ‘Softheart’ Drinkwater!

  4. Leila Benhamida
    November 23, 2015 / 9:15 am

    It will be Lucinda

  5. November 23, 2015 / 9:32 am

    We have a couple of pirate fans here who would LOVE this!

  6. Laura Tonks
    November 23, 2015 / 9:35 am

    I’d be Captain Tuff guts 😀

  7. November 23, 2015 / 10:27 am

    we are reviewing this book right now, I personally love it 🙂 thanks for sharing with #readwithme

  8. Jo hutchinson
    November 23, 2015 / 10:30 am

    my pirate name would be Captain Laundry.

  9. Gillian Mills
    November 23, 2015 / 10:30 am

    I’d be Captain Grace O’Malley 😉

  10. Jo m Welsh
    November 23, 2015 / 11:26 am

    Captain cuddles would be my name

  11. Keri Jones
    November 23, 2015 / 2:13 pm

    My pirate name would be Crafty Keri Shortlegs 🙂 x

  12. kim neville
    November 23, 2015 / 3:21 pm

    I would call myself KrazyKim

  13. melanie stirling
    November 23, 2015 / 4:26 pm

    Chilly Stirling,that’s how I feel at the moment!

  14. Hester McQueen
    November 23, 2015 / 6:33 pm

    I would be Captain Now and my helper would be Pirate M’Gin – Love the books –

  15. ashleigh allan
    November 23, 2015 / 7:33 pm

    i would be Captain Mumso

  16. Claire Elizabeth Noke
    November 23, 2015 / 8:50 pm

    It would hav to be Captain LotsaIroning

  17. November 23, 2015 / 9:57 pm

    According to my OH it would be Captain Nag-a-Lot! #readwithme

  18. Dawn mummyslittlepeeps
    November 24, 2015 / 7:16 am

    My son says his name would be captain jack jake moneybags

  19. Louise Gardener
    November 24, 2015 / 7:33 am

    Mine would be Lucky Lou

  20. Annegret
    November 24, 2015 / 7:38 am

    I would be Captain Curly!

  21. iain maciver
    November 24, 2015 / 11:57 am

    I would be captain birdie

  22. Sally Collingwood
    November 24, 2015 / 12:39 pm

    Captain Sally do dally!

  23. Samantha R
    November 24, 2015 / 1:18 pm

    Swashbuckling Sam would be my pirate name

  24. ELAINE DALE
    November 24, 2015 / 2:04 pm

    PEG LEG PEARL

  25. Ms Suan Watts
    November 24, 2015 / 2:09 pm

    Captain Scarlet would be mine as my favourite colour is red

  26. Michelle O\'Neill
    November 24, 2015 / 3:36 pm

    captain one whisker

  27. Angela Fitzjohn
    November 24, 2015 / 4:02 pm

    My pirate name would be Captain Heartagold.

  28. Lorraine Tinsley
    November 24, 2015 / 4:14 pm

    Captain Lola Martini

  29. Iona Cornish
    November 24, 2015 / 4:21 pm

    My pirate name would be Captain Treasure

  30. caroline walliss
    November 24, 2015 / 4:31 pm

    My pirate name would be Captain Walliss

  31. tracey ryder
    November 24, 2015 / 5:40 pm

    my name would be captain loneryder

  32. Claire Jones
    November 24, 2015 / 6:42 pm

    Every night my boys and I read stories together wrapped in a big quilt. This book would just be perfect, they would love it so much! Xxx

  33. Rachel Craig
    November 24, 2015 / 7:30 pm

    My Pirate name would be :- Carter.

  34. Hutch2
    November 24, 2015 / 8:06 pm

    Captain Can’tcook

  35. Corinne Henson
    November 24, 2015 / 8:16 pm

    Captain clean as I have mild ocd :/

  36. Victoria N
    November 24, 2015 / 9:01 pm

    Captain cook a lot!

  37. Clare H
    November 24, 2015 / 9:15 pm

    it would be captain mont

  38. Karen hutchinson
    November 24, 2015 / 10:04 pm

    Captain Karen sparrow

  39. Lynsey Buchanan
    November 24, 2015 / 10:06 pm

    My name would be Captain Lala-lynseypops

  40. MANDY DOHERTY
    November 24, 2015 / 10:26 pm

    Captain Nutty Nanny x

  41. Stephanie Tsang
    November 24, 2015 / 11:10 pm

    Mine would be Captain Cookalot

  42. Joanne Hutchings
    November 25, 2015 / 8:52 am

    My pirate name would be Jolly Joey

  43. laura stewart
    November 25, 2015 / 9:57 am

    i would be called Timmy!

  44. November 25, 2015 / 11:18 am

    Oh I love the look of this book! x #readwithme

  45. leanne weir
    November 25, 2015 / 11:55 am

    pirate olly or dave

  46. sarah rees
    November 25, 2015 / 5:20 pm

    Sarrrrrrrrrrrah
    a play on my name and the old pirates arrrrrrrrrrr

  47. Cheryl Pearson
    November 25, 2015 / 9:51 pm

    Captain Chocolate Stealer

  48. Jo Carroll
    November 26, 2015 / 1:39 pm

    Cap’n JoJo with the Pirate Mojo 😉

  49. November 26, 2015 / 11:29 pm

    my name would be captian fox

  50. katie w
    November 27, 2015 / 12:50 pm

    One eyed Kitty

  51. Sarah Rees
    November 27, 2015 / 1:19 pm

    My pirate name would be Swashbuckle Sarah. 🙂

  52. jules eley
    November 27, 2015 / 1:23 pm

    Pirate MeanMumMakesUsBrushOurTeeth 🙂 Heheheheh

  53. Tammy Westrup
    November 27, 2015 / 1:28 pm

    Tam the Terrific!

  54. Niki Warburton
    November 27, 2015 / 1:53 pm

    Captain Krispy Kreme

  55. leanne weir
    November 27, 2015 / 1:58 pm

    loose lips leanne x

  56. Ray Becker
    November 27, 2015 / 5:29 pm

    Broken nose becker

  57. Sarah mackay
    November 27, 2015 / 9:57 pm

    My pirate name would be Savvy sarah

  58. shell
    November 28, 2015 / 11:24 am

    It would be Captain Ah-Hah

  59. Julie Ward
    November 28, 2015 / 4:04 pm

    Captain control freak

  60. Felicity Kelly
    November 28, 2015 / 10:57 pm

    Shiver me bloomers is a fitting pirate name!

  61. Jo Glasspool
    November 29, 2015 / 12:27 am

    Legless Jo *hiccup* 😉

  62. Tammy Tudor
    November 29, 2015 / 2:41 pm

    Captain Tammy the Terrible 🙂

  63. Joanne Gibbons
    November 29, 2015 / 10:27 pm

    Long Jo shorty ( because I’m not that tall)

  64. Phyllis May Ellett
    November 30, 2015 / 7:47 am

    I could be the great Figgity Phyll 🙂

  65. olivia Kirby
    November 30, 2015 / 11:35 am

    Olivia the Irksome

  66. Laura Corrall
    November 30, 2015 / 9:37 pm

    Captain Corrall Reef

  67. November 30, 2015 / 11:29 pm

    Mine would be Emmarrrr the cleanerrrrr

  68. Rachel Butterworth
    December 1, 2015 / 12:31 pm

    Red-Handed Rae would be my pirate name.

  69. Amy Rennocks
    December 1, 2015 / 1:45 pm

    I would be called Captain Marshmallow

  70. Tarbs Gill
    December 2, 2015 / 2:34 am

    Tar Bag Blacktoe

  71. December 2, 2015 / 8:49 am

    My name would be Nutty Nana

  72. Michelle Phillips
    December 2, 2015 / 11:49 am

    I’d be called Capitain Misharr

  73. Vicki Violet Morris
    December 2, 2015 / 8:53 pm

    Cap’n Vicki Vicious

  74. Jamie Gallant
    December 2, 2015 / 9:01 pm

    I would be Jim Lad

  75. Neha Parmar
    December 3, 2015 / 5:09 am

    Shera(Tiger in Hindi)

  76. Diana
    December 3, 2015 / 8:06 am

    My pirate name would be Dianeira!

  77. dawn f
    December 3, 2015 / 8:55 am

    captain needs a snooze

  78. Karen Louise wright
    December 3, 2015 / 11:18 am

    I would be crafty messy pirate x

  79. Maria Jane Knight
    December 3, 2015 / 2:37 pm

    My name would be Captain Camerapants

  80. December 3, 2015 / 4:45 pm

    Peanut the Pirate (@PeanutHog)

  81. Barbara Handley
    December 3, 2015 / 7:17 pm

    I would have to be Barbarella due to my name.

  82. Sarah Parker
    December 3, 2015 / 7:17 pm

    I could be called curly beard

  83. Jade Hewlett
    December 3, 2015 / 7:32 pm

    Jolly Jade Pirate

  84. Angela Paull
    December 3, 2015 / 7:43 pm

    I’ll be Aggro Ange yarrrr!

  85. Kimberley Alex
    December 3, 2015 / 7:58 pm

    My name would be SilverHunter

  86. Rebecca Powell
    December 3, 2015 / 8:18 pm

    The Jolly Lady!!

  87. Sarah Mcknight
    December 3, 2015 / 9:34 pm

    Stinky socks Sarah

  88. Karen Howden
    December 3, 2015 / 11:10 pm

    Pong Hon Wilber

  89. December 4, 2015 / 3:25 am

    Rapscallion Rebecca – gotta have a bit of alliteration!

  90. kelly morgan
    December 4, 2015 / 6:55 am

    krafty Kelly the pirate

  91. Kay
    December 4, 2015 / 7:11 am

    Okay so shoot me! (shoot as in camera!)

  92. Nikki Hunter-Pike
    December 4, 2015 / 8:22 am

    Ginger Beard snake eyes

  93. Belinda Matthews
    December 4, 2015 / 9:05 am

    my pirate name would Bim Bo

  94. December 4, 2015 / 11:07 am

    Armanda – its got to have an ‘Arrr’ to be a pirate!

  95. charlotte jones
    December 4, 2015 / 12:06 pm

    I’d be Captain Jellybean!

  96. Heather Tinkler
    December 4, 2015 / 1:51 pm

    hazardous heather! I think thats a pretty good one

  97. December 4, 2015 / 2:05 pm

    It would have to be Captain Mummy Pig (we are a Peppa Pig crazy family)!

  98. Catherine Gregory
    December 4, 2015 / 4:34 pm

    Carbuncle Cat, oharrr me hearties

  99. claire little
    December 4, 2015 / 5:45 pm

    Claire-aaarrrrrrrrr would be my pirate name

  100. Emma
    December 4, 2015 / 6:02 pm

    Miserly Millie I think

  101. Debbie Mackenzie
    December 4, 2015 / 7:44 pm

    Captain Dread Debzdo

  102. Katie Skeoch
    December 4, 2015 / 7:54 pm

    Definitely captain katie the courageous!

  103. Jill fairbank
    December 4, 2015 / 8:08 pm

    Jill the brave

  104. samantha walker
    December 4, 2015 / 8:31 pm

    id be plain old captain walker

  105. Denielle Nicol
    December 4, 2015 / 8:36 pm

    Denielle the dangerous

  106. Rebecca Roberts
    December 4, 2015 / 9:10 pm

    One eyed joe

  107. Em S
    December 4, 2015 / 9:29 pm

    Cap’n Jen Nastyscab

  108. Dawn McBride
    December 4, 2015 / 10:01 pm

    Captain MoanAlot 😀 haha xx

  109. Tammy Neal
    December 4, 2015 / 10:51 pm

    one eyed tricksy

  110. Natalie Richardson
    December 4, 2015 / 11:15 pm

    Captain Nat the nasty!

  111. SiwaBudda
    December 4, 2015 / 11:53 pm

    Cap’n Marie Cutthroat

  112. Gemma Cook
    December 4, 2015 / 11:55 pm

    I would be Captain Gemby

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.