Micro Scooters Balance Bike {Review}

Regular readers of Boo Roo and Tigger Too will know that Tigger isn’t the most adventurous little boy, from his delayed walking and concerns over one leg being shorter than the other he has a somewhat shaky start to his life.  Whilst consultants feel that his cute little wobble is just him, I worry that his unsteadiness which he has slowly started to get a grab on will impact on his ability to join in with his friends.

The other week Roo finally managed to learn to ride a bike and whilst we were out at the park it was the first time that Tigger had taken his Micro Scooters Balance Bike outside of our small back yard.  I worried that he wouldn’t be able to manage the longer distance to the park, whilst yes he was a little unsteady he actually found it quite funny and thought it was a game wobbling all over the pathway.

Watching him I realised that this small lightweight balance bike might just help him with his unsteadiness, his cautious approach to new obstacles and his willingness to try new things.

Micro Balance Bike

COLOURS: Green, Orange, Pink, Purple or Yellow
AGE: 2-5 years
HANDLE BARS: Adjustable 51 – 53.5 cm
SEAT HEIGHT: 360-420cm
WHEEL SIZE: 20 cm diameter, 3.5 cm width
BEARINGS: Precision

Micro Balance Bike - Lightweight frame

Lightweight (it weighs half as much than other balance bikes) making it easy to carry especially when Daddy tempts him away with a game of football.

Micro Balance Bike - Adjustable handlebar height

Adjustable handlebar height, is a little tricky so best attempted at home, you need to loosen the top bolt with the Allen key provided then once at desired height tighten up the bolt. 

Micro Balance Bike - Adjustable seat height

The easy to adjust seat height, a simply opening of the clamp raising or lowering as required before clamping back in place again makes the bike perfect for use between friends or as they grow.

Boo Roo and Tigger Too’s thoughts…

Tigger loves it and can often been seen going on his ‘yellow bike’ between the living room to the back door and back again.

Priced at £99.99 I can see why those who have never come across a balance bike or the Micro Scooters brand would feel it is expensive, however I believe you get what you pay for and this is worth every penny.  This balance bike will last Tigger until he is ready to make that leap to pedalling.

Disclosure: We received a Micro Scooters Balance Bike FOC for the purpose of review.



  1. June 2, 2014 / 4:14 pm

    We love micro scooters- and these look pretty cool too. Nice review. x

  2. June 2, 2014 / 4:27 pm

    This is such a useful for review for people – love the big clear photos. So pleased it seems to be giving your little one lots of confidence.

  3. June 2, 2014 / 4:36 pm

    This really is such a clever idea. I love it. Great review with really clear info. Love it.

  4. June 2, 2014 / 5:42 pm

    What a ridiculously cool looking balance bike!! 🙂 x

  5. Five's A Fellowship
    June 2, 2014 / 6:13 pm

    My eldest had similar problems starting out and he’s only just started to use a scooter at the age of 4. We have a balance bike but it still seems a bit too big for him. The micro scooter one looks awesome though and the adjustable height makes it so much more versatile as the little ones grow!

  6. June 2, 2014 / 6:26 pm

    I do wish balance bikes of ANY description had existed when my kids were learning to ride – or at least I think one such bike existed but was prohibitively expensive. All of them were way past 8 when they learned as a result!

  7. June 2, 2014 / 6:28 pm

    This looks awesome, we’ve been thinking about getting one of these for Mia…I think she’ll love it

  8. June 2, 2014 / 6:45 pm

    Balance bikes are amazing – didn’t know that micro-scooter did them though. You can see the quality and the superior design on it though can’t you.

  9. June 2, 2014 / 9:25 pm

    Ohh that is cute. Not seen one of those before, I quite want a little one again now! Mich x

  10. June 2, 2014 / 9:54 pm

    Wow, fab looking balance bike. I didn’t know micro-scooters did anything besides scooters.

  11. June 2, 2014 / 9:58 pm

    Oh this looks and sounds fab! I’d love to get the twins one but when you’ve got 2 to buy it becomes expensive. It looks brilliant! x

  12. June 2, 2014 / 10:01 pm

    Wow – that looks fantastic, and knowing the Micro Scooters brand it’s bound to be good quality. It might also make a perfect second birthday present for Master C. Off to ask my local Micro Scooter stockist if they’re going to get them in…

  13. Mammasaurus
    June 2, 2014 / 10:40 pm

    How cool is this?! I wish they had done these when Ozzy was a bit younger – fab!

  14. June 2, 2014 / 11:23 pm

    Ooh damn, I wish I’d known about this a few years ago – DorkySon is 5 so he’s at the top end of the age range now, but it would have been perfect for him earlier, because he has really struggled with cycling and scooting. Like your little Tigger, he’s not the most adventurous of boys. Hope you have lots of fun ahead go you, wobbly or otherwise!

  15. June 3, 2014 / 7:07 am

    These look great. I’m definitely going to look into one for my daughter’s birthday as she loves being outside! It does sound expensive but looks like great quality and it will last.

  16. June 3, 2014 / 8:28 am

    Ooooh, that balance bike looks fantastic!

  17. June 3, 2014 / 7:28 pm

    That is very cool!

  18. June 4, 2014 / 7:01 am

    We tried Emmy with a balance bike but she never got it and refused to use it.
    I wiuld love to tey Harry with one though

  19. June 4, 2014 / 3:07 pm

    Wow, I love it. I think that it looks cool and I know just how fab Microscooters are as a brand

  20. June 4, 2014 / 3:59 pm

    I totally LOVE Micro! We’ve been massive fans of their scooters in this house for years. This looks AWESOME! Balance bikes are totally the way for kids to learn how to ride! Not to self promote (!) but I actually made a video for Netmums “Teach Your Kid to Ride a Bike” which has had an epic response! Just incase you need the next step. Fab post xx

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *